Blog Lovin’

Today I’m making Salisbury Steak / Mashed Potatoes / Gravy / Peas and hopefully (fingers crossed) this rustic bread.    Since I haven’t cooked any of that yet / don’t have any pics (still getting back in the groove) I’m going to spread some bloggy love today.  🙂  These are a few of my favorites (or just fascinators) – some are gluten free and some are not.

Another summertime song is at the end of the post if you’re not interested in finding new blog love today.  🙂 

Rich Kids of Instagram

Let’s start with the completely mindless.  😉   I discoverd this one last week while doped up on pain meds.  It’s certainly not anything I’d visit on a daily basis or anything but I will admit to spending a little too much time looking thru the pics in the middle of a sleepless night last week.

This is a compilation of rich kid photos.  What I learned from this site?  Rich kids are ridiculously obsessed with their watches.  Now, I don’t even own a watch…who needs a watch anymore with phones and technology attatched to our hands all day long?…so I found their need to take pics of their watches interesting.

Also…if I ever woke up one day rich enough to own a jet…I would just pay someone to tell me the time.  😉  

 
gf and me

gf and me are a couple living in Alberta Canada.

I could just post a pic of a plate of gluten free tortillas…which I now churn out every other day thanks to their inspiration…and that would say all you need to know about them 🙂  but they do a lot of what I like to call home-y comfort food type recipes.  Apple Crumble Muffins.  Banana Bread.  Mac and Cheese.  Campfire treats.  Rustic Bread.  Carrot Cake.  The list goes on and on.

They are also my favorite kind of cooks –  they don’t flip out on you when you tweak a recipe because you lack ingreadients or just can’t use a certain ingredient for some reason.

Give them a look if you aren’t already a reader.  🙂

My Gluten – Free Life…

Courtney is a Houston girl.  She’s gluten free and also eats super clean.  If you’re a clean eater her recipes fit that style.

She routinely reviews the gluten free options of local Houston restaurants (and other towns she visits too).

Check her out if you eat clean and especially if you’re gluten free in this area.

Gluten – Free Gus 

Gluten Free Gus is written by Pam.  Her son, Gus was diagnoised celiac when he was 6 (I think he turned 21 recently).  On GFG she shares the recipes and tricks she’s perfected over the years.  This blog is a mix of healthy and comfort.  Donuts.  French Toast.  Spaggetti Squash.  Pasta.  Scones.  Quiche and more.

She takes the most gorgeous food pics AND I covet her red and white collander.  🙂

The Southern Lady Cooks

This one has nothing to do with gluten free eating but it’s one my favs.  She has a pic on the homepage of some sweat iced tea and calls it “the house wine of the south”.  Love that.  🙂   The recipes are decidedly southern.  Ham and Bean Soup.  Bisquits.  Cobblers.  Cube Steak.  Beef Liver.  Etc.

So far I haven’t had any problems converting recipes to gluten free by just swaping out flour and / or adjusting liquid amounts.

The Londoner

The Londoner is Rosie.  She looks like she could be Kate Middleton’s sister.  Her blog is really just a London lifestyle / fashion blog but she does recipes and travel posts too.  As someone who has always dreamed of going to London I just really love all her pics and stories about local stuff.  

Lords of the Drinks

As most of you probably know by now I prefer my alchol in the form of cake 😉 but I come from a long line of Czech drinkers and I have a minor in history so the concept for this blog thoroughly fascinates me.

Lords of the Drinks (or LOTD as they call themselves) are two dudes from Bulgaria – Nikolay (the blog owner) and Micky his best friend.  They write about historical drinking, personal drinking stories, recipes and pub reviews.

All with the disclaimer…

“You know, I and the guest-bloggers aren’t alcoholics. We go to parties we are drunkards!”

They post quotes like…

“Whenever someone asks me if I want water with my scotch, I say: I’m thirsty, not dirty.”

– American comedian Joe E. Lewis 

And stories about historical figures like…

Grigori Rasputin and Cleopatra

Last but not least…

Mama’s Gotta Bake 

Mama is Sheryl.  She’s not gluten free and she makes all sorts of delicious looking treats.  Cakes.  Muffins.  Breads and more.   She’s not afraid of sugar or butter and she compares cooking to art.  I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

Her Apple Streusel Coffee Cake  is at the top of my list of things to try (tweaked to gluten free of course) as soon as I switch over from summer to fall recipes next month.  This is South East Texas.  Sometimes the only way we can signal seasonal changes is with food. 😉

She too takes gorgeous pictures and gives me serious camera envy.  🙂

Thanks to all for entertaining and / or inspiring me.  🙂  I hope you’ll give some of ’em a click and hopefully this here little blog will be back to food pics and stories on Friday.  🙂

I’m off to watch one of my fav summer movies…Dirty Dancing so I’ll leave you with another summer-ish song.  We can’t be friends if you don’t ‘get’ Dirty Dancing.  We can be acquaintances just not friends.  🙂    Unless you’re Keith Urban…we can always be friends, Keith.  😉

4 responses to “Blog Lovin’

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out! Glad you are enjoying tortillas again and really hope you like the bread as much as we do. So jealous of this: “Sometimes the only way we can signal seasonal changes is with food.” Here at the 52 parallel North we’re watching the leaves turn amber and starting to worry about frost at night in the garden.
    Now, I’m off to check out some of these sites. I think I’ll start with LOTD …

    • Thanks for being so supportive, gfandme. 🙂

      I think that’s always the way it is with the climate. Those of us in hot areas dream of cold and those in the cold dream of heat. I’m way too much of a summer girl to handle the cold for too long but it always looks so pretty. (Good thoughts for the garden. 🙂 )

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.