Catching Up

Hi, y’all. 🙂

I promise I’m not giving up on the blog.  It’s just taking me a little while to figure out my little place here on the internet now that I’m not cooking sweets (and regular meals are so boring).  I’m going to write much more about this next week when I also hope to get thing back to some sort of ‘normal’ around here. 🙂

This week has been very boring in every way.  I really took the week to just chill and do as little as possible.  Today I had a massage and that was great.

Earlier in the week Papa L got me this adorable new piece for my Le Creuset collection (thank you, Papa L) …

The baby cast iron skillet.  I named her Consuela.  In case you don’t know…her sister…the large skillet is Carmelita.

(Consuela because to this day my favorite TV character of all time is Suzanne Sugarbaker on Designing Women.  I love all those eps where she’s ranting about her maid, Consuela…esp the one where she pays Anthony to take Consuela’s citizenship test.  I know.  I’m silly.  Don’t care. 🙂 )

This was actually my favorite meal this week.  Y’all know I don’t do sugar anymore but I do still love breakfast for supper.  Pancakes and waffles must have some kind of ‘syrup’ though.  SO…I just cooked down some frozen whole blueberries till they reduced and used that as my syrup.  LOVED this.  Next time I’ll puree the berries first and then cook it down to syrup consistency though.   I think it would be a more natural mouth feel.  I’m also going to try it with strawberries.

That’s really about it for this week.

Oh but before I go…something that will only be of interest to some of my readers…

Tonight…the little town that cultivated the roots to my soul…that taught me be ‘me’ and nobody else…the place where I spent age 4 – age 25…is hosting my current little town in football.   GO WILDCATS !!  Show ’em how a real football town does it. 😉

 

Ok now let’s send summer out the same way we started it…with my fav summer song. 🙂

Have a great / safe long weekend.  See y’all next week. 🙂

6 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Happy long weekend! Love that you name your kitchen tools! Might have to start doing that too. For waffles, we often just use yogurt and fresh berries or peaches. Tastes great. And thanks for reminding me of “Designing Women.” I’d completely forgotten about that show 🙂

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 I wish I could make myself like yogurt. The only way I can do it is if it’s in a yogurt smoothie or if it’s mixed in with part of a recipe. They say that when you remove sugar your taste will change…I’m still waiting. 🙂

  2. Go Wildcats! (I’m from another wildcat school). I’m sure you’ll find your place! I love how you name your pans. I love how Consuela and Carmelita match. Plus, regular meals can be interesting too. Or, at least I think so. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.