Take Two

2013-10-08 20.44.07

If you’re familiar with this site you’ve probably picked up on the fact that I don’t give up…on anything.

This is clearly evident in my 2 month homemade flour blend quest.  🙂  And it’s true here with the donuts.  I tried donuts over the weekend and just knew I could do so much better.

Normally I would hold this post for a few days so as not to have y’all looking at the same thing two posts in a row but these turned out so well I can’t even wait to share.  🙂

My adapted recipe is at the bottom of this post.  I adapted it from this Emeril Lagasse recipe.

I cut the recipe in thirds for the first try.

I used my flour blend which I hope to have up on the site sometime on Friday.  I’m sure most other blends will work fine too.  I say most because I know some people use bean blends and I can’t imagine something that heavy working well here (or tasting very good).

2013-10-08 15.13.42 2013-10-08 15.15.56

2013-10-08 15.16.11 2013-10-08 15.25.09

Now here’s where you’re going to have to trust me…don’t worry I’m very trustworthy.  🙂

This ‘dough’ is extremely wet.  It’s a little bit thicker than a cake batter.  I know.  Believe me…I know.  Bakers out there it’s going to take absolutely everything in you not to add flour.  DON’T DO IT.   🙂  Mix it all up.  Cover and let rise.

It’ll get a little bit firmer with the rise.  I’m sorry I didn’t get a pic of the risen dough.

After it rises punch it down.  It’ll be very sticky but will have enough structure you’ll be able to push it down.

Put some flour on a board or I just use a long piece of wax paper.

Plop your dough on the flour and coat the dough.  Just enough to handle it.  Again DO NO ADD flour into the dough.

Pinch off rounds of dough.  Put some flour on your finger and make a hole.

2013-10-08 19.50.36 2013-10-08 19.50.43

Again I can’t stress this enough…you’re only using the flour to make handling the dough easier / less messy.  You do not want to work it into the dough.  The lighter this dough the fluffier your donut.

2013-10-08 20.01.17 2013-10-08 20.12.24

For this batch I did a chocolate glaze and a simple butter / powdered sugar glaze.  I also had some left over orange cream-cicle icing so I used that as well.  The chocolate one at the top is a ‘football’ donut.  🙂

2013-10-08 20.44.11

These were delicious.  Papa Lupiac thought they were so good he wanted to know if they could be our Thanksgiving Dinner Rolls.  Ummm no Papa L.  They cannot.  🙂

That’s right, gluten free baking…hit me with your best shot.  I’ll ‘win’ way more times than not.  😉

Donuts

The amounts for a third of the recipe are in parentheses. 

1pkg Yeast (1 tsp)

3/4 cup Sugar plus a pinch for yeast  (1/3 cup sugar plus a pinch for yeast)

2 1/4 cup Milk  (3/4 cup)

6 Eggs    (2 eggs)

1/4 cup melted Butter   (1 1/2 tbsp)

1/4 tsp Salt      (pinch)

6 cups Flour   (2 cups or 250g)

Directions

Proof yeast in warm milk with a pinch of sugar.

Beat eggs and sugar til pale yellow.  (I used a mixer with the whip attachment.)

Add yeast mixture / melted butter / salt and flour.

Beat for a couple minutes.

Cover and let rise til doubled.

Form and fry.   (You can drop by spoon if you don’t want to mess with the shaping process.)

These are also Emeril’s glaze recipes.

Powdered Sugar Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar

3 tablespoons milk

In a small bowl, combine the powdered sugar and the milk and whisk until smooth.

Chocolate Glaze

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 cup powdered sugar

4 to 5 tablespoons milk

In a small bowl, combine the cocoa powder and the powdered sugar. Add in the milk and whisk until smooth.

5 responses to “Take Two

  1. OMG these look fantastic! I have never made donuts before. The deepfry part has always intimidated me. But I think I’ll have to try this – and maybe surprise Geoff. He used to LOVE donuts. Thanks for this!

    • You’re welcome, gfandme. 🙂 and thanks too. 🙂

      You should definitely try them. This is truly the first thing I’ve made that I couldn’t wait to share / blog about.

      I’m not into the deep fryer either but this was worth it.

      I wish I could tell you exactly how long I fried them but it was different for each one. I used my thermometer and tried not to let the temp get above 320. Just aim for the light golden brown color you can see in the frying pic.

  2. I am literally sitting at my desk drooling. I’m with Papa L!!! The football donut is very cute too! 🙂 Love you!!

  3. Pingback: Flour Blend Friday | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.