Jack Daniel’s Cake

As always…recipe is at the end of the post. 🙂

2014-01-02 21.20.30

So…

Papa Lupiac’s golfing buddy gave him this big bottle of Jack for Christmas.  Papa L asked me if I could use some to make him a Jack cake.  I’d never made one before but figured if I couldn’t find a specific recipe I could always just use my rum cake recipe and sub the Jack for the rum.

2013-12-31 15.03.58 2013-12-31 15.21.15

2013-12-31 15.34.33 2013-12-31 16.18.12

2013-12-31 16.19.57 2013-12-31 16.31.33

I didn’t get a pic of the fully soaked…or cut…cake. 😦

I ended up finding a few JD cake recipes online and settled on the one from the JD site.  It’s called Jack’s Birthday Cake.  It’s behind an age ID wall so you’ll have to enter your info to pass thru to the recipe.    

I changed a few things.  I used Cup4Cup for the flour.  Added some vanilla pudding and cinnamon.  Left out the chocolate chips.  And completely changed the ‘glaze’.

Papa L LOVED…and I mean LOVED this cake. 🙂  I enjoyed it too but y’all know rum cake is my go to liquor cake.  Always has been…always will be.  I really really enjoyed the glaze though. 😉 There was a little left and I heated it up and drank it straight as a little midnight treat…or hot toddy…as my Mema would have called it. 🙂

Anyway…if whiskey’s your drink of choice this recipe comes highly rated from my whiskey drinker. 🙂   It was quick and easy to make too.  The recipe said you could use a bundt pan but since I was making half a recipe I chose to stick with an 8 x 8 pan.  I have some cute little mini bundt pans so I might use those next time.

Have a good weekend. 🙂

Gluten – Free Whiskey Cake

(adapted from Jack’s Birthday Cake recipe found here)

1 cup plus 2 tbsp Flour (125g plus 2 tbsp Cup4Cup)
1/2 package Vanilla Pudding
1 heaping tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt   1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1 stick melted Butter
1 cup firmly packed Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
1/4 cup Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Whiskey
1/2 cup chopped Pecans
Hot buttered glaze (below)

Directions
Heat oven to 325°F.
Grease a 8 x 8 baking pan.
Combine the flour, dry pudding mix, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl.
Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat.  Remove from heat.
Stir in the brown sugar, eggs, flour mixture, and Jack Daniel’s.  Mix well after each addition.
Pour batter into the greased pan.
Bake 20 minutes. Know your oven. 🙂
Cool on a wire rack.
Sprinkle pecans on top and drizzle…or pour 😉…glaze over cake.  Let sit til all the liquid soaks into the cake.

Glaze
1 stick Butter
1 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Jack Daniel’s Whiskey

Melt butter.
Add brown sugar and cook til melted.
Remove from heat and stir in JD.

3 responses to “Jack Daniel’s Cake

  1. Pingback: ” Twelve Night Cake” | Ace Food & Health News

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.