It Really Works ~ Avocados

Before I get started with todays post…

I want to take a second to say Congrats to Papa L. 🙂 Today marks his one month anniversary of giving up chewing tobacco.  He’d been dipping for around 30 years and just woke up a month ago and quit.  That’s right…we’re all getting clean over here in the rural route. 😉  I’m going to do a future post about something that’s helped him get thru the urge to chew but for now…congrats, Papa L…we’re so very proud of you. 🙂 

 

Now…I don’t know if y’all read about this a couple weeks ago but I know it made the media rounds.

Freezing avocados.

What?

I’m lucky to live in an area where we can get fresh / cheap avo year round…and y’all know we eat a lot of tex – mex in this house…but we also always end up with an extra one or two so I decided to give it try.

Avo and salsa.

Mashed.

Small snack size baggies.

Packed tightly…sealed and double bagged.

I put them in the ice drawer so they freeze faster.

I really had my doubts about this but it worked perfectly.  I just grab an individual portion and thaw it in the microwave.  My micro goes by weight so I just weigh it…throw it in the microwave and in a minute or so…guac ready to go.  I really liked this.

The different articles said that freezing works best for mashed up avocados…that slicing them or leaving them in halves didn’t result in the best texture.

The green salsa mixture I’ve been using on avocados has a citric in the ingredients but if you don’t add a mix prior to freezing I’d squeeze some lemon / lime or sprinkle some ascorbic acid on it just to help prevent any browning before it reaches freezing.

This is a keeper.   Give it a try if you find yourself with a ‘getting ready to brown’ av you want to try to save. 🙂

Have a great weekend. 🙂

4 responses to “It Really Works ~ Avocados

  1. Awesome! Thanks for the recipe. Avocados are expensive here so we don’t like to waste them. And thanks for the ice drawer tip. Can’t believe I’ve never heard of that!

    • You’re welcome. 🙂 I’d never heard of it either and really didn’t think it would work. I didn’t think it would freeze before it started to brown. I do one av per bag and so far it’s worked perfectly.

  2. I started to do the same thing with fruit and vegetable purees which I freeze in portions I need for baking or other needs. Did not notice any difference in using apple, orange, carrot, pumpkin purees after defrosting either overnight in the fridge or in warm water if needed fast. These zip lock bags do wonders.

  3. Thanks for sharing! I missed this tidbit floating around the Internet, but I’m glad to know that it works. And congrats to Papa L, that’s an awesome milestone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

