Sugar – Free Sweetened Condensed Milk and Ice Cream

We are now well into our 8th week of Mama L’s acid elimination eating and still moving right along.  It’s second nature now and I don’t really think about it all that much.  Would I still like some real candy?  Sure.  But I want to sleep thru the night more. 🙂

I said I was going to share my alternative sugar blend in August but I’m going to go ahead and do it today since it’s a part of todays recipe.

Before I get started on that I want to say that…even though I have a sugar sub blend I Iike now…sweets are still going to be a once a week / once every other week or so kind of thing.  I know it makes the blog boring but I’d rather have a boring blog than to reawaken my sugar demons. 🙂

I’ve tried 3 different sugar subs and the two I’ve settled on are…

Diabetisweet.  It’s an isomalt sweetener.

Ignore the ideal sugar sub…it didn’t work for me.  It spiked my blood sugar and had me in the kitchen wanting to eat every sweet thing in there.  I didn’t eat anything else but I had a very strong and immediate reaction to the ideal.

And…

…this new to the market sugar sub…Sin-Free Sugar.  It’s a Xylose / Erythritol / Brown Algae blend and it is amazing.

Xyl / Eryth are both super low Glycemic Index sweeteners.  Isomalt is low too.

I use equal amounts of Diabetisweet and Sin Free.

I used them both and made some really delicious homemade ice cream last week.

Now…this is supposed to be an easy dump / stir / freeze type recipe and it is if you can use all these products straight off the grocery shelf.  But as y’all know…nothing is easy when you have to make everything from scratch.

The ice cream base called for a can of condensed milk so I just made my own. 🙂

1 can Evaporated Milk

1/2 cup Diabetisweet

1/2 cup Sin-Free

1 dash Salt

Cook on medium heat…whisking a lot…til nice and thick.  I took a little while…maybe about 8 minutes.  But it got to the actual consistency of the canned stuff so just keep stirring til you have that level of thickness.

It’s hard to see it in the pics but it really does thicken up.  This last pic I was trying to show thickly it’s coating the pan.

Condensed milk on the left and homemade chocolate syrup on the right.

Plus the rest of the ice cream ingredients.  Recipe at the end of post.  

Chocolate syrup added to condensed milk.

Rest of ingredients added.

After freezing.  Soft serve consistency.

After setting up in the freezer for a couple hours.

This was definitely my favorite thing I’ve made in the last 8 weeks. 🙂  The original recipe is a sugar – full recipe so if you don’t need to make subs…it’s written to work with stuff straight from the shelves.     

Have a great weekend. 🙂

 

 

‘Easy’ Chocolate Ice Cream

1 can (or recipe) Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 (5 oz) can Evaporated Milk

2 cups Milk / Cream (I did half milk / half cream but you can do all of one or the other)

2/3 cup Chocolate Syrup (*Hershey’s style)

Vanilla (to taste)

2 tbsp Glycerin (not a requirement for success but it helps the ice cream stay scoop-able from the freezer)

 

Directions

Combine all ingredients.  Mix well.

Cover and place in the ice box overnight or at least 4 hours.

Pour into ice cream maker and freeze according to directions.  (Mine froze for 1 hour.)

Eat it right away if you like soft serve or transfer to freezer safe bowl.  Cover and let freeze for a couple hours.

 

*Hershey’s makes a sugar – free syrup that is sweetened with Erythritol and Splenda but it’s hard to find so I made my own…

 

Homemade Chocolate Syrup

2 tbsp Cocoa Powder

1/2 cup Sugar Sub

1 tsp Corn Starch

1 dash Salt

3/4 cup Milk or Cream

Vanilla to taste

 

Directions

Combine all.

Bring to a boil (whisking constantly) and boil / stir for 2 – 5 minutes until it’s almost the consistency of bottled syrup.  You want to pull it off the burner just shy of syrup consistency because it thickens a little as it cools.  

Let it come to room temp before using.

11 responses to “Sugar – Free Sweetened Condensed Milk and Ice Cream

  1. I love this!
    I’d not thought of adding a sugar substitute to make sweetened condensed milk. In my mind I’d always imagined the sugars were necessary for the caramelization, but the sugars in the milk just as well, don’t they.
    Pinned for when I get back home.
    Thanks,

  2. The ice cream looks amazing! It’s so interesting to read about your experience with ideal sugar sub. Crazy! But, I’m glad your finding options that work for you and Mama L. So glad this post came early. 🙂

    • Thanks, Kaila. 🙂 I think the problem with ideal is that is has maltodexterin (or however you spell that) as a binding agent and it’s known to give some people problems. I must be one of them.

  3. The ice cream does look amazing! I always thought you needed sugar (and salt!) to give it the right texture. And don’t worry about the sweet recipes – I’d rather you sleep too 😉

    • Thanks so much, gfandme. 🙂 I thought the same thing about the alternative sugars. I thought they’d work fine for sweetness but had my doubts about creating texture or thickening or whatever other chemical properties real sugar provides. It’s been fascinating.

    • I agree, Milly. I had August marked as the month I’d start reintroducing sugar – free stuff on a regular basis but even though I will continue to cook for the rest of my household I’m not and don’t plan on eating much of it myself. I don’t miss it anywhere near as much as I thought I would.

      (The reason I cook it at all is because I’d rather my loved ones eat homemade stuff than go out a buy a bunch of processed / chemical filled stuff.)

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      • You’re so right, I’m trying to do exactly the same for my husband to make sure he eats healthy xxx

  4. Pingback: Flour Experiment ~ Banana Muffins | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

