My New Toy

Papa L is celebrating a milestone this month and as he always does he celebrated by sharing it with us.  He bought me this ice cream maker I’ve coveted for years.  Thank you, Papa L.  You’re the very very best. 🙂

It’s this Cuisinart self contained unit.  No bags of ice.  No space eating freezer bowls.  It’s got it’s own ‘freezer’ unit built in.  No mess.  Just fill the bowl.  Lock the lid.  Press a couple buttons and 40 – 60 minutes later you have ice cream or gelato.

Just a simple ice cream base for the first try.  Cream / Milk / ‘sugar’ / Vanilla.

It was really really good but I’m going to play around with my sugar subs before I post a recipe.  I’m sure it will be the same as with gluten – free cooking…it’ll take a few trials before I find my sweet spot.  Pun intended. 🙂

In honor of apples and Fourth of July I served it over an apple upside down skillet cake which was also good…but again I need to work on my sugar subs and ratios before sharing a recipe.

I also forgot to get a finished pic after it came out of the oven.  Sorry.

This was the first sweets I’d had in over 5 weeks and I’m happy to say it was uneventful.  I was scared just one taste and I’d be face down in a vat of real ice cream surrounded by the empty wrappers from all the chocolate in Wal Mart.  That didn’t happen at all though and now I’m really excited to experiment more starting in August. 🙂

I’m sure I’ll use the ice cream maker at least once before then though. 😉 It’s not even that I want to eat ice cream that much…I just wanna play with my new toy.

A couple other eats from the weekend…

Chopped BBQ / Corn and Strawberry Crush.  I’ve written before that because of my childhood summers on the bay Strawberry Crush just screams ‘summer’ to me.

Well now Crush has these sugar free water enhancers in Orange, Grape and Strawberry.  I got the orange and strawberry and have used them with my Soda Stream.  With the carbonated water they’re almost just like drinking the real thing.  Now remember I haven’t had any real sugar in weeks though so my ‘almost just like the real thing’ might not be the same as if I still had the taste for the actual real thing.

The next day I took some left over chopped bbq / sauce and pickles and rolled them up in a tortilla for a BBQ ‘sandwich’.

This was actually one of my most favorite meals in weeks.  Will definitely have this one again.

Hope y’all had a great weekend. 🙂

 

7 responses to “My New Toy

  1. Love it! We have the freezer bowl type and this one sounds much easier – and quieter. I find with mine that by the time the ice cream is ready I have a headache from the rrrrrr, rrrrrrr, rrrrrr noise it’s made for the last 30 minutes! A quick sugar free recipe is to throw in some sugar free yogurt and fruit and make frozen yogurt.

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 The ice cream maker is amazing. I love it. It only make a tiny bit of noise and even with the sugar free subs it’s making a really nice finished product. I’m making another batch this weekend that will hopefully make it on the blog. (I’m sorry for the delay in responding to this I took a little computer / blog break.) 🙂

  2. Ohhh! That looks like an awesome gift. 🙂 Sugar subbing with gluten free cooking, I hadn’t even really thought about all the substations you were making. I can’t wait until the final recipe comes out because then you can include a picture of the final product too. 🙂

    • Thanks, Kaila. 🙂 I’m giving it another try this weekend and fingers crossed it’ll be good enough for not only a blig picture but a recipe too. 🙂 (sorry for the delay in responding I took a week away from the computer / blog)

  3. Pingback: Happy Christmas in July | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

