Update and Dipping Sauce Recipe

The weirdest thing happened in the middle of typing this post…my whole dashboard switched to German.  I clicked the ‘Save Draft’ button and it switched back to English.  Crazy. 

Anyway…

We (me / Mama L) are now in our fifth week of no sugar / low acid. 🙂

I can’t believe it.  I don’t think I’ve ever gone 4 full weeks without sugar in my life.

No sugar is here to stay though. I don’t think the detox I went thru for the first 2 weeks is normal. I don’t think I should feed…whatever it was that was causing that…ever again.

I have had small amounts of Splenda / stevia and it didn’t cause any kind of problems and it didn’t make me want the real stuff either.

Except for a small sugar free treat I hope to make on Fourth of July and a little treat for our Christmas in July celebration we’re going to keep up the no sugar / no sugar free treats for another month.

Then in August I’m going to start experimenting with making all my favorite gluten – free treats sugar free as well. I’m actually kind of excited so hang with me for one more ‘boring’ month then in August things should get more active around here. 🙂

The whole reason we’re doing this is to help heal Mama L’s throat reflux.  This has been a life saver for her.  Since the day we started this she’s only had ONE bad night…after a solid YEAR of bad nights.  The one bad night was when she drank her almond milk / fruit / chia shake too late at night.  She had some reflux issues from the acid in the fruit that night.  Since then she never drinks it after 6pm and she hasn’t another bad night.

She has more energy now than she’s had in a year.

Sleep is what it’s helped me with the most too.  I’m sleeping so soundly now.

It hasn’t helped me in the energy department but I’ve got all the lupus fatigue / inflammation pain to deal with so I don’t look for it to help me there all that much anyway.

Here’s some stuff I’ve eaten the past month…

2014-06-10 14.47.56

Pizza and Stromboli.  I went light on the sauce on my pizza and I used an Alfredo sauce for Mama L’s stromboli.  She said she liked it better that way.  Remember…I don’t need / have to eliminate acids but I am trying to keep it at condiment size amounts.

2014-06-21 14.17.28

Pintos.

2014-06-21 14.16.55

Ribs.  Only the last 4 ribs had sauce on them.

2014-06-21 14.28.59

2014-06-22 19.46.18

I love love love this almond / coconut milk combo for my chia drink.  So creamy.

2014-06-22 23.55.44

Ice box ‘gulash’.  Corn / Green Beans / Hamburger meat and some cheese.

2014-06-24 19.59.44

I call this one ‘too lazy to wash a plate’. 😉  I just dumped it all on the saran wrap where I’d mashed the avocado.

2014-06-24 22.09.38

Mystery dough used for something I’ll share in an upcoming post. 😉

Thanksgiving in June. 🙂

2014-06-28 19.19.50

Hamburger patty.  Cheese.  Homemade onion strings.  French fries.  And…

2014-06-28 14.17.43

2014-06-28 14.25.56

…this mock Saltgrass dipping sauce.  Recipe at the end of post.

In the old days when I could eat the onion strings I’d always get the prime rib plus onion strings and extra dipping sauce then I’d dip both steak and strings in the sauce.  I love that stuff.

I might still play around with the seasonings a little bit but it’s pretty dang close as is.

Hope y’all’ve had a great June. 🙂

 

Mock Saltgrass Dipping Sauce 

1 cup Mayo 

1/2 cup Milk

2 tbsp Horseradish

2 tbsp Ketchup

1/4 tsp Salt

Dash of Garlic Powder 

Dash of Paprika

Dash of  Cayenne

Dash of Pepper 

 

Directions 

Whisk everything in a glass or plastic bowl until completely smooth.

Cover and chill for at least 4 hours.

5 responses to “Update and Dipping Sauce Recipe

  1. everything looks amazing!! Can’t wait for Christmas in July! Very proud of y’all! Love you. ❤

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 I got to experiment a little over the holiday weekend. I’m excited but I think it’s going be like the gluten-free baking. It’s going to take some trial and error to come up with an alternative sugar combo I like.

Leave a Reply

