Thanksgiving in June

Next month I’m having a Christmas in July get-together so I decided to also do a little Thanksgiving in June today. 🙂

Dressing.  Green Bean Casserole with homemade Onion Strings…thanks for frying, Mama L. :).  Cheddar Bay biscuits.

Baked Chicken and Chicken Gravy.

The food was good but it was also nice to take another day to be thankful.  I have the best family a girl could ask for.  A roof over my head.  Food in the fridge.  The best blog readers around. 🙂

Sometimes I get so ‘down’ over all the health stuff…every now and then it’s nice to take a forced day or even just a moment to think about the good things. 🙂

My favorite part of the meal today was the green bean casserole.  We always have it for Thanksgiving and New Years Day and then really don’t have it again the rest of the year.  That so needs to change. 🙂

Being gluten – free means no caned Cream of Chicken.  For a while I’d been just making a chicken broth ‘roux’ / gravy type replacement but then I found this recipe I’d saved a long time ago during my pre gluten – free days.

Have y’all ever seen this recipe?  As always…it’s at the end of the post.

2014-04-26 14.16.12 

Dry milk.  Butter.  Chicken broth base.  Flour.  Cup4cup or course. 🙂

2014-04-26 14.21.25 

Butter cut into flour and dry milk.

2014-04-26 14.26.04

2014-04-26 14.29.25 

Mix plus water.

2014-04-26 14.29.57 

It starts out very lumpy because of the cold butter but then…

2014-04-26 14.34.53 

Perfectly smooth. 🙂

This is now one of my most favorite gluten – free ‘finds’ / conversions.  It works so amazingly well as a cream of chicken replacement.

 

 

Gluten-Free Chicken Soup Mix

 

Ingredients

 

2 cups Powdered Milk
1 cup Flour (125g)
7 tsp Chicken Broth Base
1 cup cold Butter

 

Directions

 

In a large mixing bowl (or food processor) cut butter into dry milk, flour, chicken broth base.

Store mix in the refrigerator for up to 3 months.

 

To Make 1 ‘Can’ of Soup

Ingredients

 

1/2 – 1 cup Soup Mix  (I only need 1/2 cup.)
1/4 tsp Onion Powder
1 cup Water

Optional…add very thinly diced chicken.

Directions

Add soup mix, onion powder and water to a saucepan.  The original recipe calls for 1 cup of mix but it gets way too thick for me if I use that much.  My guess is it’s because of the gums in gluten – free flour.

 

Mix well.

 

Turn heat to medium and stir constantly until the mixture thickens (doesn’t take very long).

Add the diced chicken.

Use the same way you’d use a regular can of Cream of Chicken.

 

4 responses to “Thanksgiving in June

  1. Love it! You’re right. We need more time set aside just to be thankful for what we have. It’s too easy to start thinking the world owes us something. And, by the way, I am thankful for the soup recipe. One of the things we’ve always missed was canned soup. It’s so easy to use in recipes!

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 The soup recipe is the best replacement I’ve found so far. I know you measure out a lot of your flours individually and I bet you wouldn’t have the gum problems I did with with my first few batches since you can control the amount of xanthan gum that way.

  2. I read this post after I just made a new post and we must be gluten free twins! I make gluten free cream of mushroom soup with goats milk that’s decent! Goes great with my tater tot casserole. Thanks for the chicken soup recipe!

  3. Pingback: Update and Dipping Sauce Recipe | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

