Redneck Beachin’ it Today ;)

2014-06-10 13.52.32

Getting some vitamin D in the backyard. 🙂

THE best ranch I’ve ever had in my life. 🙂

2014-06-10 14.31.10

Recipe at the end of post.

2014-06-10 14.38.14

2014-06-10 14.37.01

Bottled ranch has a ton of preservatives and several acids so I decided to try to make my own.  Since I eat ranch like a 4 year old eats ketchup…I didn’t have high hopes and figured what I was really loving in bottled ranch was the ‘possessed’ taste.

I was so wrong. 🙂

2014-06-05 12.58.43

The main flavors in ranch are…garlic / onion / chives and dill.  Since I’m in love with this Spice House blend and it contains garlic / onion / chives and zero preservatives I decided to use it…plus fresh dill.

This is easily adapted to fit your taste and needs.  Don’t like cream?  Use buttermilk or your favorite alternative.  Scared of full fat mayo?  Use low fat or vegan or whatever other alternatives you like.  Don’t have dry and / or fresh herbs..convert and use what you have.  Don’t like a lot of garlic?  Use a tiny pinch of dry just to get the flavor profile into the mix.

Additional fyi incase you need it…

To convert from dry to fresh spices / herbs…use 1/4 tsp dried to replace 1 tsp fresh.  (ex. use 1/4 tsp garlic powder to replace 1 tsp chopped garlic)

I know most of you don’t have the Lake Shore seasoning…if I didn’t have the blend I would start with 1/4 tsp garlic powder / 1/4 tsp onion powder / 1/4 tsp salt plus 1 tsp fresh chives and 1 tsp fresh dill.  Then adjust based on my own taste.  

 

Homemade Ranch

1 cup Mayo

1/4 cup Sour Cream

1/4 cup Whipping Cream

1/4 cup Water

3/4 tsp total dried Spices and Salt  (preferably a mix of garlic / onion / salt)

1 tsp chopped fresh Chives

1 tsp chopped fresh Dill

 

Directions

Mix all ingredients with a whisk until completely smooth.

Cover (or pour into a bottle) and chill for at least an hour…preferably 4 hours…before serving.

4 responses to “Redneck Beachin’ it Today ;)

Leave a Reply

