Bread Fail and Bean Win

Fellow bread bakers…HELP.  What the heck happened here?

I’ve been baking bread since elementary school and I have never seen anything like this before.

I used the same recipe I’ve been using for weeks…the hotdog bun doughnow minus the ascorbic acid which I’ve done before with no problem.

When I took the bread out of the oven and left it on the counter it looked like this…

2014-06-08 14.37.00

When I returned 20 minutes later it looked like this…

2014-06-08 16.02.05

2014-06-08 16.02.17

 

It was like some kind of weird rubber texture.  I’ve had bread fall before but never like this.  Usually when it falls it’s kinda gooey / undercooked inside.  This was fully cooked and rubbery.  Rubbery.  Something I didn’t think was even possible with gluten – free flour.

Tried again today and it was perfect but I still can’t stop trying to figure out what happened with the dough above.

2014-06-09 14.53.05

 

Let’s see what else…

2014-06-08 13.32.31

 

Tried this packet of dehydrated refrieds.  It’s vegetarian and contains nothing but dehydrated pintos and salt.  My usual canned brand has vinegar and acidic preservatives so I had to try something else since that’s too acidic for Mama L right now and I didn’t feel like making them from scratch.

Now y’all remember…I grew up in south Texas.  Mama L says she and Meme used to feed me refrieds like baby food before I started solids.  I’m super picky about my refrieds.  OK…Ok…I’m super picky about everything…but nothing more so than my Tex-Mex. 😉

At first I didn’t think I was going to like these at all.  They didn’t seem to be rehydrating very well…

2014-06-08 13.28.34

 

so I added more water…a lot more water.  The directions said to use 2 1/4 cups water.  I ended up needing a total of 4 cups (the extra water added 1/4 cup at a time) to get these to pass my refried ‘test’.  Once I got them to the right consistency they were actually really good.  I’ll definitely buy them again.

2014-06-08 15.34.56

Homemade chalupa shells for

2014-06-08 15.46.27

Bean / cheese / guac chalupas.  I had salsa because I don’t need to eliminate acid.  Mama L ate hers with a bean burrito made from a homemade gluten – free tortilla and homemade queso.

I’m not sure what my posting sched will be this week.  Mama L has her thyroid scan way out of town later this week and I have a Dr’s appointment way out of town the next day.

 

 

2 responses to “Bread Fail and Bean Win

Leave a Reply

