Going Insane ;)

I won’t lie.  The recent dietary changes have been h3llish.  But we persevere.  🙂

Mama L says ‘thank you’ to those of you who wished her well. 🙂

She’s responding to the changes really well and can’t remember the last time she felt as energetic as she has the last week.  And we’ve both be amazed at how well we’re sleeping.  Before these changes she literally hadn’t slept thru consecutive nights in a YEAR.  She slept thru the night every single night this week.  It’s fascinating how quickly her body has responded to the removal of acidic foods.

And she’s handling the no sugar thing a whole lot better than I am.  I feel like I’m going insane.  In Walmart yesterday I was white knuckling the buggy as I walked by the candy and ice cream and…everything.  At one point earlier in the week I said something like ‘I want some sugar so bad I’d lick syrup off a dirty foot’.  Those of you who know me and my need to disinfect absolutely everything…know how badly I must have wanted some sugar for those words to leave these lips. 😉

I’m actually a little better today though. 🙂

Here’s two things we’ve had this week…

First…my version of the shake from the book (he shared it on Dr Oz so it’s fair game here).

His version for one serving is 1 cup fruit / 1/2 cup almond milk / 1 banana / 4 cubes Ice.  Optional…handful of spinach and / or 1 tbsp protein powder.

2014-06-04 15.39.44

2014-06-04 15.40.48

 

2014-06-04 15.41.58

My version…for one person

1 tbsp Chia Seeds soaked in

1 cup Almond Milk  overnight

1 cup Berries and Banana blended and then added to the soaked chia / almond milk

You can just put it all in the blender and blend but I soak the chia first because I like the plumped texture so much better than the grainy one.

Next…baked chicken wings 

2014-06-05 12.58.33

2014-06-05 12.58.432014-06-05 13.19.112014-06-05 14.45.10

Sorry I didn’t get a better pic.  These were almost gone before I realized I didn’t take one.  They were amazing.  The whole house loved them.  Recipe after the song o the day.

Baked Wings

1 large ‘family’ size package Chicken Wings

2 cups grated Parmesan Cheese

(I used shaved Stella from Walmart and just threw it in the mini food processor to ‘grate’ it.  If you use the green can…don’t add any salt or these will taste like a salt lick.)

Seasoning to taste

(I used about 1 tbsp of the Lake Shore seasoning above which has onion / garlic / shalots / salt / pepper)

1/2 cup melted Butter

(Or butter sub if you don’t do butter…if we didn’t have the coconut allergy in the house I’d totally do these with coconut oil.)

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*.

Line baking sheets with foil and spray or brush with nonstick of your choice.

(Don’t skip the foil.  You’ll be sorry if you do. 🙂

Cut wings into 2 pieces.

Don’t use the pointy tip piece.  It will burn long before your wings are done baking.  Save it for stock or throw it out.

Melt butter.

Mix parm and seasonings.

Dip wings in butter then in parm mixture.

Place on prepared pan and bake for about an hour.

Resist the urge to poke these or turn them.  About halfway through you should blot off the fat that’s pooled around the pan but don’t turn them.

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “Going Insane ;)

  1. So glad to hear that Mama Lupiac is feeling better! I’m pretty sure I would have gone insane as well, but it sounds like you’re doing an awesome job as a support system. Also, I’ve been loving the song selections lately. 🙂

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 I wanted to add this about the wings and never got around to editing…the little ‘puddles’ around the baked wings were little crispy piles of parm that melted. They were really good too. (I was scared they might look like puddles of fat.) 🙂

      • Just so you know, I had to make something with Parmesan cheese tonight for dinner because of your post 😉 Didn’t have any wings, but made parm potato cakes instead.

  2. Pingback: Update and Dipping Sauce Recipe | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

