Weekend Eats ~ Pic Dump

How was y’all’s long weekend?

I’m just going to do this pic dump style. 🙂

2014-05-26 15.21.48

Memorial Day here was a rain out.  We had over 5 inches of rain.

2014-05-26 15.21.36

My kitchen cactus, Albuquerque.  She’s not quite sure what to make of all the wet stuff. 😉

Some eats from the weekend…

2014-05-23 20.15.29

Potato salad.

2014-05-23 23.57.00

2014-05-25 19.42.07

Homemade banana puddin’ with homemade vanilla waffers.  This was amazing.  Last summer I wrote about how sad it was making banana pudding for everyone else and none for me.  In some circles I’m kinda known for my banana pudding.  One of my uncles used to walk in the door for family get-togethers and ask ‘Where’s the banana pudding?’.

No banana pudding tears from me this year. 🙂

2014-05-24 15.34.38

Chopped bbq on a bun.  Potato salad and pintos.

2014-05-24 14.31.36

2014-05-24 16.24.43

2014-05-24 17.08.41

Fresh ground hamburger meat.

2014-05-26 15.01.09

Brisket, pintos, potato salad, corn and strawberry Crush.

If y’all wonder why all the Crush around here in the summertime…it’s just something we do as a throwback to summer as a kid.

Papa L’s side fam had a house on the water in a little town an a bay.  That’s where Alto – Janylvia gets her name.  I’ve written about Mema and her 3 sisters before.  Well 2 of them plus their Mom also had homes on the bay too…all right next to each other.  Mema always used to say we were just like the Kennedy’s.  Not quite in grandeur, Mema but they had nothin’ on us in the soul level attachment to the summer home on the water. 😉

From birth to 10-ish a large part of my summer was spent there.  Not only with Papa L’s side of the fam but also with Mama L’s side.  Mema and Pappy would let Meme use the house too and every summer Mama L would work her beauty shop for her and she would take me and sister L…and our cousins on that side of the family down there for summertime vacay with her too.

So very many of my childhood summer memories…with all three grandparents…are tied to that place.

I’m sure y’all are thinking “That’s lovely Jennifer but what the heck does that have to do with Crush?”

I’m gettin’ there. 🙂

The very first thing we’d do when we got to the bay was…hug the grandparents of course…but then reach into this huge red ice chest that sat right by the door.  It was full of iced down cans of orange / strawberry / grape Crush.  That’s the only time we ever drank those.  At the bay.  Never at home.  So they are quintessentially summer to me.  Around here now we pretty much only have them in the summertime too. 🙂  Although I have to tell y’all… the orange Sodastream flavor is really good.

2014-05-26 14.46.21

Pina Colada. 🙂

2014-05-27 01.10.45

Mama L’s homemade ice cream.  Plus my addition…Fruity Pebbs of course.

2014-05-23 22.22.33

And last but not least…this cake…which will have its own post here the next time we meet. 🙂

 

 

 

 

7 responses to “Weekend Eats ~ Pic Dump

  1. Wow! That’s a lot of rain, we didn’t hit any on our Memorial Day drive. All the food looks tasty, especially the chopped BBQ bun and cake. Looking forward to your next post to learn more about the cake! 😀

    • Thanks, Kaila. I’m glad y’all had a nice Memorial Day. 🙂 We get so little rain. It was definitely needed but still…you hate for it to ruin a holiday weekend.

      I think I’ll have the cake post up on Thursday.

      The cake has tapioca but the post will be about more than just the cake in the picture and you will be able to use your own flour blend. 🙂

  2. Love it. And I LOVE that your cactus is named Albuquerque! We used to have a similar summer-time thing. No bayside home, but my grandfather would often have a soda called Tahiti Treat waiting for us when we came for a visit. I don’t think they’ve made it for twenty some years but I can still taste it when I think about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

