Happy Birthday, Papa L

No food pics or recipe today…just some sappy family stuff. 🙂

I’ve written a lot about Papa L here on the blog. He’s actually the only person in my life who WANTS to be on the blog. You can read about him here and here.

And right here today.

He always makes me laugh…he tells people he’s gluten – free now…he has an obsession with ants and with mowing the grass on Thursday…he’s always made sure we’ve never wanted for anything and more than anything else…he loves our Mom more than life itself.

Only certain kinds of men should be allowed to have daughters and Papa L should be the poster dad. 🙂

He loves it when I talk about him here and normally I would have a pic to go with the post but we still don’t have everything back in its place from the remodel and I can’t get to the pics.

Since this is a food / health issue blog…today I’m going to share a Papa L story related to my Lupus diagnosis.

I was diagnosed  the day before Thanksgiving…so right in the middle of the Thanksgiving / Christmas holiday season.

All I ever wanted in life was to have kids. OK…that’s not true. I’ve wanted a lot of things in life but more than anything else I wanted to have kids.

So finding out I couldn’t have them right in the middle of the holiday season was almost more than I could take. In fact I ended up on Zoloft for a little while til I could pull myself together.

Everything was making me sad / cry. Decorations. Christmas Music. Wrapping Paper. Every child I saw. The Cosby Show reruns. Just…everything.

One day Papa L said ‘Let’s get out of the house’.

Now here in rural route that really just means ‘let’s go to Walmart’. And back then we only had a little basic no frills / no groceries Walmart.

So off we went.

And what did we buy you ask?

Well candy of course. 🙂

Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Santa Clause candy to be specific.

And you know what?  I ate that candy like a 3 year old and learned a little something too.

Turns out you’re never too old for everything in the world to be made a little…or even a whole lot better…with some candy from your dad. 🙂

Happy Birthday, Papa L. I love you. 🙂

 

I associate so many different songs / singers with Papa L…everything Willie Nelson…those Celtic lady singers…all sorts of A&M songs…Cattle Call…Sloop John B…really I could go on and on…but since I always emphasize his gift of laughter here I’m going to roll with this one today. When we were little he seriously had a T-shirt with this on it. 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Happy Birthday, Papa L

  1. Awh, happy birthday Papa L! He sounds like such a sweet and good man. I also appreciate the link to your story; I had never actually read it before. And, Happy World Lupus Day! I hope you keep thriving and writing this blog; it’s one of my favorites. 🙂

  2. What a great tribute to the greatest man we know – our dad. I loved reading it and even cried a little – especially at the part about how only certain men should be allowed to have daughters. We got SO lucky in the mom & dad department! And, I cannot ever hear that song you chose without thinking of Dad. Great post! I love you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

