Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

aka…quite possibly the best cookies I’ve ever made. 😉

I wanted to try something different and decided to brown some butter and use it for cookies.

I just randomly picked one of my many chocolate cookie recipes and subbed an equal amount of brown butter for the plain butter.  I left everything else the same. You could just do the same with your fav recipe but I’ve included mine at the end of the post.

I browned the butter the night before and left it on the counter to set up so it would be ready to go when I was ready to make the cookies the next day.

2014-04-30 00.18.42 

There’s an extra half a stick in this picture but it was for something else and I forgot to move it for the picture. 

2014-04-30 00.22.33

2014-04-30 01.05.41

2014-04-30 14.13.40

2014-04-30 14.22.51 

The butter will look like there’s no way it will whip up all fluffy and pretty but…

2014-04-30 14.28.32 

…it does. 🙂

2014-04-30 14.29.14

2014-04-30 14.30.32

2014-04-30 14.31.56

2014-04-30 14.37.24

2014-04-30 14.40.40

2014-04-30 20.04.41

2014-04-30 20.15.09 

I can’t even tell y’all how good these were.

I can already tell they’re going to be the new go-to chocolate chip cookie in the Lupiac household.

 

 

 

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 sticks Butter *browned

1 1/4 cups Brown Sugar

3/4 cup Sugar

2 Eggs

2 tsp Vanilla

2 3/4 cup Flour  (that’s 344g for me)

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 bag Chocolate Chips

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*

Beat butter and sugars on medium high until pale and fluffy.  About 4 minutes.

Beat in eggs.

Add vanilla.

Reduce speed to low.

Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and chocolate.

Mix on low til blended.

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes.

Let cool on pan for a few minutes before you move them to a cooling rack.

 

*To make Brown Butter 

Melt butter on low heat.

Cook until golden brown.

Stir occasionally to keep from burning.

You’ll really know it’s done by the smell.  It gets this super intoxicating / nutty scent.

Visually it will be golden brown and will have small brown bits sinking to the bottom of the pan.

Remove from heat.  Poor into a bowl and let sit until solid but soft.  When I say solid…it doesn’t get solid like cold butter but you want it to firm up some so that it’s not liquid anymore.

Also you don’t strain this like making ghee.  You use the brown bits and all in the cookies. 

8 responses to “Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Okay, so I can’t have butter (which seems key to this recipe), or else I would be trying them in a heartbeat. They look and sound absolutely amazing! Also, you made so many cookies, I’m hungry just looking at them. (Good thing I made cookies yesterday too!) I’m going to share this recipe with some of my dairy-eating gluten-free friends 🙂

    • Thanks, Kaila. I’m sorry you can’t have butter. 😦 Yeah, the brown butter flavor is what makes these cookies and I don’t know if there’s a way to replicate that with butter alternatives.

  2. Wow! Best cookies you ever made – that says a lot. You’ve made some awesome looking cookies on this blog. I’ve actually never heard of browning butter. Interesting.

    • Thanks, gfandme. Definitely try the butter browning thing if you’re ever in the mood to try something different. I think it would work in any cookie recipe. All it really does is give them this amazing flavor that I still can’t come up with words to describe. 🙂

      • Thanks so much, gfandme. It’s hard when you’re hit with one health thing after another so it took a couple weeks to fight through it but now that I’m able to get back in the kitchen I’m a million times better…emotionally. Thanks again for thinking of me. It means a lot. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekend Eats and Hawaiian Style Rolls | Rural Route Lupiac

  4. Pingback: Just Call Me the Cookie Queen ;) | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

