Happy Cinco de Mayo

2014-05-03 19.46.43

Isn’t this cute? 🙂

Sorry for being gone so long.  The downtime from the remodel lasted longer than I anticipated it would.  I got really sick…breathing wise…from the various remodel smells (stirred up dust…paint…wood stain…contractors who seemingly took a bath in cologne…etc).  I also got some bad lupus related blood results and have been in a small funk.

But I’m ready to stop wallowing and am able to get back in the kitchen. 🙂

Up first…these cute Cinco de Mayo cupcakes.

If you’ve been reading the blog for any length of time then you know how much I love Tex – Mex food.  Well I also love Mexican culture.  I don’t have any Mexican blood in me but I most definitely have a little Mexican in my soul. 🙂

So…it should be no surprise that I’d celebrate Cinco de Mayo.

Fajitas are on the menu today.   And these cute cupcakes for dessert.

2014-05-03 00.37.38

Dry ingredients.

2014-05-03 00.39.17 

Wet ingredients.

I wanted to make these margarita flavored since only adults would be eating them.  I didn’t have any tequila and didn’t want to wait til I could go to the liquor store so I used one of these premixed things.  It was OK but if I wanted to do this flavor again I’d go get the tequila.

2014-05-03 00.43.23

2014-05-03 01.08.35 

2014-05-03 15.06.14

2014-05-03 14.44.26

2014-05-03 14.46.21

2014-05-03 19.46.21

I don’t really have a recipe for these.  I used a scaled down version of my rum cake recipe and subbed the margarita drink mix for the rum.    You could also do the same thing with your favorite gluten – free (or full) box cake mix.  Just sub your chosen alcohol for about half of your total liquid.

The icing was some of the Pillsbury Supreme Key Lime icing that’s out right now.  I would add a little green food coloring to this next time.

The sombrero is a gummy peach ring plus a gum drop for the hat.  And for the hat ‘stitching’…some of those little decorating pearls found on the cake mix aisle.  I used Karo syrup to ‘glue’ everything together.

I’d totally make these again for a Mexican themed meal.

Thank you to those of you who emailed to check on me. 🙂 I can’t wait to catch up on y’all’s blogs. 🙂

 

 

8 responses to “Happy Cinco de Mayo

  1. Love the cupcakes! They’re so cute 🙂 And, I hope you’re feeling better; it’s good to see that you’re back in the kitchen. I must say I laughed about the contractors who took a bath in cologne, why?! Anyway, sending healthy thoughts your way!

    • Thanks, Kaila. 🙂 I don’t know what is up with contractors lately but it was awful and you don’t want to say anything to make them mad or they’ll drag your job out forever. Thankfully though the whole house is finished now and we’re done with them for a good long while.

  2. Those are so cute!! And look yummy! Glad you’re starting to feel a little better. Hang in there. Love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

