Orange Balls

First…let me introduce y’all to Claude. 🙂

When I first designed the kitchen remodel last year I knew I wanted a huge rooster sitting somewhere.

I’ve been looking for over a year now and finally found one.  This one couldn’t match the room any better if I’d had him custom painted.  Love it. 🙂

Todays treat was surprise hit.  Before / during and even after making this I didn’t expect it to be as big a hit as it was.

I’m obsessed with all thing orange right now and needed a new bottle of orange extract for something else.  When I saw this recipe for Orange Balls on the back of the box I decided to try to de-gluten it.

Look at those homemade vanilla wafers. 🙂

Picture ended up blurry so the typed recipe is at the end of the post.

Crumbled wafers, pecans and oats.

This is a super wet ‘dough’…resist the urge to add anything to it.  It dries as it sits.

If you use your hands to roll you’ll need to keep wetting them to help keep the dough from just flattening and sticking to your hand instead of balling up.

I only set them in this tray so y’all can get an idea of the size.  Those are mini cup cake liners. 

To start with…I used this recipe for homemade Vanilla wafers.  Whether or not the orange balls turned out I would have declared this a good experiment for the wafer recipe alone.  🙂  I followed her recipe exactly just subbing Cup4Cup for the flour.

The balls ended up being a keeper too. 🙂

I made half the recipe and we have a coconut allergy in our house so I subbed some minute oats for the coconut.

As you can see in the pic…the dough is really wet when it’s first mixed up.  I was so concerned with it I almost baked them because I was so scared they would fall all apart when I tried to sugar them.  Instead I rolled them and stuck them in the freezer for 15 minutes.  Then I rolled them in the powdered sugar.  They really did firm up enough that I could have just dropped them in a bag of sugar like the recipe suggests but I really hate doing that…for anything.  I like to do each piece individually so they’re all equally coated.

Anyway…I rolled them each in the powdered sugar then put them along with the rest of the powdered sugar all in one bag and into the ice box.  I’m not sure how they would do if you were serving them in a more ‘formal’ setting since they’re best cold…but thankfully we’re very casual around here and I’ll definitely make them again. 🙂

 

 

Adams Extract Orange Balls 

1 box (14oz) Vanilla Wafers 

1 cup chopped Pecans

1 cup Coconut  I used minute oats.

1 stick melted Butter

1/2 cup Orange Juice

1 tbsp Orange Extract 

1/4 cup light Corn Syrup 

1 lb Powdered Sugar

I made half the recipe and it halves perfectly.

 

Directions 

Mix first three dry ingredients.

Add wet ingredients.

Mix til all of the dry ingredients are wet and form a big ball.

Roll into about 1 1/2 tsp sized balls.

Place in freezer for 15 minutes.

Roll in powdered sugar or put powdered sugar in a bag / add balls and shake.

Store in the icebox.

3 responses to “Orange Balls

  1. Looks good! Love the idea of resisting the urge to fix the dough. Isn’t that often the way with gf recipes? You look at what you’re creating and think “That CAN’T be right,” but it usually is!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Eats ~ Pic Dump | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

