Country Salisbury Steak

I’m calling this country steak because it doesn’t have any mushrooms in it so it isn’t traditional Salisbury steak.  But I grew up with one country and one small town grandma and they never put any mushrooms (or the sometimes included…sour cream) in it but still called it Salisbury steak.

I’ve made this steak for years…long before the diagnosis from h3ll…but I can honestly say for reasons unknown it is a million times better gluten – free.  The meat is so soft and fluffy.  I don’t know if real bread crumbs weigh it down in a way that gluten – free crumbs don’t or what but all I know is even if I were miraculously cured tomorrow…I’d still make it this way. 🙂

What looks like skin there dissolves instantly when you put the gravy over it.  It’s just there because of the gelatin.  

Served it with the above steakhouse potatoes / cheddar bays and some green beans for everyone else.  I’m still drinking my greens in the form of spinach.  Also…I’ve reviewed those potatoes before but just so everyone knows…they are gluten – free. 🙂  

Do we think it’s sad that I still get happy when this song randomly plays while I’m working out? 😉 

 

Country Salisbury Steak 

1 ½ pounds lean Ground Beef

1/3 cup Bread Crumbs

½ cup Milk

½ tbsp (1 ½ tsp) Gelatin

3 tbsp Water 

1 Egg

Seasonings* to taste   

*for seasoning these plus hamburger in general I highly recommend gf & me’s Onion Soup Mix   

Brown Gravy  

 

Directions

Soak bread crumbs in milk for about 5 minutes.

Soften gelatin in water for a minute or so.  You want it to be a wet gel not Jell-o.

Add them both plus the egg and seasonings to the hamburger meat.

Mix and mush with hands until soft and well combined.

Shape into patties.

Lightly oil and then heat skillet to medium high.

Fry patties for 1 – 2 minutes per side.  These finish cooking in the over.  You’re just wanting to brown both sides in the skillet.

Transfer to baking pan.

Cover with brown gravy* and bake at 350* for about 30 minutes.

 

*For the gravy…use your favorite gravy made with the type of thickener your body can handle.  

For my gravy I used…

 2 1/4 + 1/4 cups Water

4 tbsp Corn Starch

4 tsp Beef Broth Powder

½ cup Cream

Bring 2 ¼ cups water and broth powder to boil.

Dissolve corn starch in remaining ¼ cup water.

Add cream to water / broth then quickly stir in dissolved corn starch.

Reduce heat and whisk til it gets as thick as you like.

 

4 responses to “Country Salisbury Steak

  1. Thanks for the link and the shout out! And it’s funny you should say that about these tasting better gluten free. My sister-in-law makes really great sweedish meatballs but when she makes then gf for Geoff they are waaaayyyyy better.

  2. I would never have though of using onion soup mix, that certainly beats cutting up onions if you’re in a rush. I’ve never had steak burgers in a sauce like that the sauce does look like Ikea meatball sauce and I love that.

    • Hi, Charlotte. I love it when you stop by 🙂

      Onion soup mix is really good in hamburger meat. Another thing I use in hamburger meat (for an onion flavor) is powdered ranch dressing mix. I don’t know if y’all have that over there but it’s amazing in bar b q burgers.

      Salisbury steak is a lot like the Ikea meatball just in an oval patty shape. Salisbury steak was big over here in the 70’s. Some diet Dr invented it as part of his diet plan. I know…it doesn’t look like diet food at all but it became a hugely popular frozen TV dinner over here. They still sell them.

Leave a Reply

