Magleby Dinner Rolls

If you’re like me you’re probably thinking…’what in the world is a magleby?’.  I saw this recipe online don’t remember where and when I did a search to try to find it again…there were just way too many results.  I was fascinated with the idea of using mayo on a roll and since my family loves garlic / butter / parm…and mayo…I wanted to give it a try.

Turns out Magleby as it relates to this recipe is just the name of a restaurant in Utah that serves breadsticks / rolls baked this way.

This is another recipe you can make with any kind of dough…gluten – free or full.  You can use any kind of dough you love as long as you can divide it into portions…even if it’s a gluten – free dough too sticky to roll into pretty rolls.  Just divide and use two oil sprayed spoons for the dipping.

300g (about 3/4 pound) icebox risen dough.

Dough divided into 12 (25g ) balls.  You can go bigger if you want but I was trying out a new mini muffin pan so I went small.

Dipping station…

Mayo. Weird. I know. Just roll with it. 🙂

Plus melted butter / garlic powder / parsley.

Plus parm.

Dough dipped in mayo.  This is kind of slippery.

From mayo into butter / garlic / parsley.

Note:   Since making these rolls I’ve looked at some other recipes for them and it seems like most people are mixing the garlic powder and parsley with the parm instead of putting them in the melted butter.  I will do it that way next time too.  

Then into parm.

I messed up with my parm.  I misread the recipe and just used the Kraft parm in a can but the recipe called for actual shredded parm.  It tasted great with the Kraft parm but the shredded would have made it look better presentation wise.

After all the dipping…the rolls aren’t all that smooth.

But after a rise and bake…beautiful round top rolls. 🙂

We all ate our rolls with fish for Friday Lent.  Everybody else had regular fried fish.  I had some more of this fish which I still love love love. 🙂

I’m doing Easter Brunch…which time wise will be more like brunch-uper 😉 …but I think these would be a nice addition to a traditional Easter meal. 🙂

Hope y’all had an enjoyable weekend. 🙂

 

Magleby Dinner Rolls

1/2 lb – 1 lb soft Dough 

1/4 cup Mayonnaise

1/4 cup melted Butter

1/4 cup shredded Parm

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

2 tsp Dried Parsley

 

Oven temp 375*

 

Directions

Divide dough into number of rolls you want to make.

In one bowl melt butter.

Measure out mayo into a separate bowl.

Combine parm, garlic powder and parsley in a third bowl.  Or just use a plate like I did.

Dip dough in mayo then into butter then into parm / garlic mix.

Place in pan and rise for about 20 minutes while oven preheats.

Bake for 10 – 15 minutes depending on size.

Brush with more butter and let cool for a few minutes before removing from pan.

7 responses to “Magleby Dinner Rolls

  1. Glad to see there’s another celiac blogger celebrating lent. I must admit that I had trouble at first, but I’m starting to get the hang of cooking Friday meals 🙂

  2. These sound really good and when I think about it, not all that weird. It’s a bit like dipping something in egg before coating it. And I love the word “brunch-uper.”

Leave a Reply

