Sunshine Rolls

This is the reason I needed to make Orange Curd.

Since I’m all about sunshine and Spring right now I wanted to try something a little less cinnamon-y and a lot more citrus-y.

Hello sunshine rolls.  🙂  Rolls filled with citrus curd instead of cinnamon / sugar.

This a recipe that anyone can make…gluten-free or regular.

All you need is some citrus curd…some dough and sugar.

Homemade dough…box mix dough…frozen dough…you can use any roll-able dough you like.  I used my soft dough but the brioche dough would probably be really good here too.

I only made half the recipe…1/2 pound of dough…4 rolls since I was just trying it out.

This is one of the best things about making up dough and having it in the icebox to use all week….being able to just make four (or even 1 or 2) rolls at a time so they’re always freshly baked.

This pan seemed like a good idea at the time.

Less so after the rise.

I only made 4 rolls…or triangles in this case.  All of my pans were either too big or too small to hold four so I just used a bread pan.  They tasted really good but because of the pan size they formed triangles instead of circles as they rose.  These were really just a test to see how I liked the flavor.

They were a huge hit.  I’m definitely going to make a full batch…and use the correct size pan to produce round rolls.   🙂

Hope y’all are having a good week. 🙂

 

 

Sunshine Rolls

1/4 cup Sugar

1 tbsp Orange Zest (optional)

1 pound Bread Dough 

1/2 cup Orange Curd

 

Instructions 

Preheat oven to 350*

If using zest…mix with sugar.

Sprinkle half the sugar on your rolling surface.  I rolled mine on Saran wrap.

Place dough on top of sugar / zest.

Roll to 8 – 16 inch rectangle.

Sprinkle rest of sugar / zest on dough.

Spread curd over dough.

Roll dough into a log.  Pinch the seam to seal.

Slice roll into 1 inch rounds.

Arrange on pan.

Cover and let rise about 30 minutes.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes until golden brown.

Cool and ice.

I used some left over orange icing but if you have to make icing use:

1 cup Powdered Sugar

1 – 2 tbsp Orange Juice, Milk or Cream  

Stir together until smooth and pour over warm rolls.

3 responses to “Sunshine Rolls

    • Thanks, gf and me. 🙂

      Hey I wanted to let you know that I’ve been trying to comment on your last post on your site since yesterday (the baked fusilli post). Each time I get a message that says…

      “Service Temporarily Unavailable

      The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.”

      Just wanted to let you know. 🙂

      • Thanks Jennifer. I’ve been working with wordpress to move to a self-hosted site. I hope they can get everything back to normal soon!

Leave a Reply

