Yeasted ‘Tortilla’

Wet Burrito.   No words for how happy this made me. 🙂

Mixed with the hand mixer.  In the ice box to rise.

Divided into four balls.  Rolled thin.

Cooked on a very lightly oiled comal.  Super soft, roll-able ‘tortillas’.

Refried beans.  Rice and corn.

Spicy chopped beef.  Enchilada sauce and queso blanco.

Look at that gorgeous roll. 🙂  It was so unbelievably soft and didn’t split at all.

Smothered in enchilada sauce and queso blanco.

These stayed soft on the counter…under a damp towel…for hours.  Later that night I had half of this ham, cheese and egg taquito.  You can see how tightly I was able to roll it and not one split.

A wet burrito is something I’ve really missed since the diagnosis from h3ll.  I’ve had good results making gluten – free flour tortillas with Cup4Cup but none of them have been this soft or have been able to roll tightly like this.  Also, I haven’t been able to get one this large using Cup4Cup.  So…I decided to try a yeasted / ice box version and I think you can tell from the pics how happy I am with them. 🙂

I’ve only tried this with the bread flour blend (the flour recipe is found within the recipe at that link)  but if you want to experiment with using regular gluten – free flours I’ve halved the recipe and if you make half it only uses a little over a cup of flour.

Yeasted ‘Tortilla’ or Wrap

Amount on the right makes 8 .  Amount in ( ) makes 4.

282g Bread Flour Blend*                  (141g Flour)

1 2/3 tsp Yeast                                        (1 tsp Yeast)

1 1/2 tbsp Sugar                                      (3/4 tbsp Sugar)

1/2 tsp Salt                                               (1/4 tsp Salt)

1/3 cup Sour Cream                              (3 tbsp Sour Cream)

3 tbsp Butter or Lard                          (1 1/2 tbsp Butter or Lard)

2/3 cup warm Evaporated Milk        (1/3 cup Evaporated Milk)

1/2 cup Water Roux                       (1/4 cup Water Roux)

Mix flour, yeast, sugar and salt.

Make a well and add sour cream, butter, evaporated milk and water roux.

Mix with spoon or mixer.

Ice box it overnight.

The next day divide into balls and roll thin.

Cook on a lightly oiled skillet about 30 – 40 seconds per side.

If not using right away cover with a damp towel to keep from drying out.

*Again, the recipe for the flour can be found within the bread recipe at the above link.  

Also, I use 125g flour to equal 1 cup.  And if you’re wondering about the sour cream making these sour…I think the yeast must ‘eat’ the sourness or something because these don’t have even a little hint of sour.  

3 responses to “Yeasted ‘Tortilla’

    • Hi, kim. 🙂 I’m not ready to share the enchilada sauce yet (still tweaking it). But for all of my spicy beef I just use onion powder / garlic powder / black pepper / salt chili powder / cumin / cayenne and sometimes some Spanish style paprika. I don’t measure any of it…it’s just something I’ve done so many times I don’t need to measure. I make sure the onion / garlic / black pepper and salt is evenly distributed over all of the meat and then just do a few dashes of everything else and mix it all together.

Leave a Reply

