Lent Friday Idea

This is my first Lent as a celiac.  Prior Lent Friday meant fried fish and shrimp…Sonic Fish Sandwich / Luby’s / Red Lobster / little local fish places…etc.  Nothing I can eat now. 😦

As I come up with new or interesting ideas for Lent I’ll share them here.

First up…I had some left over crawfish from the gumbo making so I decided to make a pasta dish.

2014-03-05 14.49.20

Crawfish / Butter / Spices.  There’s not as much butter in there as it looks like.  Some of the liquid is what cooked out of the crawfish.  Even I wouldn’t put that much butter in there. 😉

2014-03-05 14.50.57

Alfredo Sauce.

2014-03-05 14.52.25

Added some parm and cooked for a few minutes to meld.

2014-03-05 14.49.23

Schar Tagliatelle Pasta.

2014-03-05 14.56.22

I’ll definitely make this again.

Any good seafood ideas for lent?  Link away if you want to share. 🙂

Have a good weekend. 🙂

4 responses to “Lent Friday Idea

  1. You can still make your own gluten-free fish and chips at home, right? I’ve never made it, since I’m vegetarian, so I can’t vouch for any specific recipes, but I’ve seen them on several blogs. You can even make a gluten-free beer batter, or so I hear. Good luck!

    • Thanks, Molly. 🙂 Yes, I’ve made a fried fish a couple times and it was great but it’s not the same as being able to have a Lent lunch with family / friends at a favorite seafood place. I won’t really cry about it or anything but this is just the first year I’m going to have to come up with all (or at least most of) my Friday meals at home. (I’m not willing to risk a glutening for seafood.) 🙂

      • Yeah, the loss of being able to go out whenever/wherever is one of the biggest bummers about this disease, and I do NOT blame you for not wanting to risk it! I’m pretty encouraged by the research results that have been coming out about enzymes that will actually help with gluten cross-contamination. From what it sounds, you’d be able to take the enzymes and actually eat half a slice of bread. That means fish Friday would be back on the table! Here’s a link to the most recent study I’ve seen: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24583059

Leave a Reply

