Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler

Let the good times roll. 🙂

2014-03-03 15.14.18

First…Gumbo and rice with Cheddar Bay biscuits.  The family requested the biscuits.  At first I thought it was an odd mix but the buttery / garlic mixes really well.

My gluten-free attempt at this family fav was a huge success.  The white rice flour was the perfect white flour replacement in the roux.

Now…on to the sweets. 🙂   Recipe at the end of post.

2014-03-01 16.40.08 2014-03-03 12.38.15

2014-03-03 12.38.52 2014-03-03 13.00.19

Look at that gorgeous dough. 🙂

2014-03-03 14.53.03 2014-03-03 19.24.46

2014-03-03 19.28.01

No words. 🙂

2014-03-03 16.16.16 2014-03-03 19.41.30

Same dough used for ‘beignets” or just donuts.  Of everything I’ve ever posted here…I wish y’all could smell and touch this one. 🙂

I haven’t had a real donut in almost a year now.  From what I remember 😉 of them…this tasted so unbelievably close to (and more importantly had the mouth-feel of) a donut hole I almost cried happy tears. 🙂

I’ve always loved Blueberry King Cake but just like the panettone…king cakes weren’t a ‘thing’ in South Texas.  If you wanted one you had to make it yourself.  So I did.  Many times.  A few times though when Papa L was in Louisiana during Mardi Gras for work stuff he brought them back for me.  Always blueberry.  He told me the blueberry was the hardest to find because they sold out so fast and that they had to drive all over the place to find one…but they always did find one. 🙂

If you’ve ever had a real king cake then you know they’re not a highly risen / tightly rolled dough.  It’s really only rolled twice.

This was my first attempt at a gluten-free version.

I took a bunch of different ideas and threw them together for this recipe.

I’ve written before about my love of water roux.  It makes everything super soft.  So I knew I wanted to use it.   From the bread book I’ve learned about using yogurt in bread baking.  I’d never heard of that before but I think it’s supposed to help with softness too.

SO…since I knew I wanted a super soft dough here I decided to use both.  Nicole uses both in some of the recipes in the bread book so I was fairly confident it wouldn’t be a complete disaster. 😉

This was the most amazing dough.  It was a little wet but I LOVED the end results.  I adjusted the recipe here to remove 1/4 cup of the liquid which should take care of the ‘wet’ issues I had.

If you’re celebrating today…be safe.  If you couldn’t care less about this ‘holiday’…stay safe and warm. 🙂  

Super Soft Sweet Dough

3 cups (420g) Flour
2 tsp Yeast
1/4 cup Sugar  

1 tsp Salt
1/4 cup Milk (or Water)

1/2 cup Yogurt

1/2 cup Water Roux
1 Egg
1 tbsp Butter  

King Cake Filling

1 8oz package Cream Cheese

1/2 cup Powdered Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla  

Blueberry Pie Filling

For the Cake and Doughnut Icing  

1 box Powdered Sugar  

1/2 cup Cream  (more if needed)

1 tsp Vanilla   

Purple, Gold and Green Sugar.

Directions

For the Dough

Mix all the dry ingredients.

Make a ‘well’ in the center and add water roux, yogurt, milk (or water), egg and butter.

I used my hand held Kitchen-aid mixer with the dough hooks and kneaded for about 3 minutes.  Then I put it in covered bowl in the icebox for 4 days.

For the Icing

Use a whisk and blend sugar, cream and vanilla until thick and smooth.  If you need more cream add it by the tbsp.

For the Cream Cheese Filling

Cream the cheese, sugar and vanilla until soft and smooth.

For the King Cake

Roll out dough.  Fill with cream cheese and blueberries.  Roll up and shape.  Let rise for about an hour.  Bake at 350* for about 20 – 30 minutes (depending on oven).

Let cool then Ice and sprinkle with colored sugar.

For Doughnuts

Roll dough at least half an inch thick.  Cut into desired shape(s).  Let rise til doubled.  Fry at 325*.

Dip in powdered sugar (for beignets)  or powder sugar icing (for donuts).

10 responses to “Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler

  1. Oh wow! That dough looks and sounds really, really good. I have a recipe of my grandmother’s that I haven’t converted to gf yet and I think this might just be perfect! Thanks for sharing.

    • Yes you can definitely add more shrimp. You can really use any kind of seafood (or anything else) you like. Leave the chicken and sausage out if you want a straight ‘seafood’ gumbo. I just always use chicken because I make the broth with it. It’s a super versatile dish. 🙂

  2. Me again 🙂 What flour did you use for the sweet dough? Maybe I’m just missing it, but I can’t see it here. And PLEASE tell me there’s no expandex in it 🙂

    • I’m sorry, gfandme. I did use the bread flour blend.

      To me it seems like the biggest thing the expandex adds is a small ‘stretch’ to the dough plus a little bit of a chewy texture (and you can get a chewy texture from plain tapioca starch…think those chewy Brazilian cheese rolls). The donuts and king cake didn’t really need any stretch so I wonder if you could play around with using a general flour (that has some regular tapioca in it) plus add some of the whey (since the whey is what actually mimics the protein of gluten). If I were going to try it without the expandex that’s where I would start. I’d use Nicole’s % of 18% whey protein per cup of flour and use your fav flour blend containing some tapioca starch for the rest.

      • Thanks so much for the advice. We’ll give it a go one of these days soon. And you know what – they make expandex here in Canada! Sooo frustrating.

      • That IS the craziest thing. Maybe now with people asking for it some store in Canada will start to carry it. I want to test it out too (leaving out the expandex) I’m just trying to find something that I can cut down to a super small amount to test it on (so i don’t waste ingredients). I know Nicole has already tested everything under the sun and has the expandex in the blend for a reason but I’d test it out just to see if there was a huge difference in the results.

        Have you checked to see if the Ultratex 3 is available in Canada?

        When expandex was all sold out here right at first…I ordered the Ultratex 8. The 8 is a little too strong for the bread blend but it works so I think her tweaked numbers for using the Ultratex 3 would be very comparable to expandex. I’ve actually used the 8 in tortillas and they turn out really well.

  3. Pingback: Sunshine Rolls | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

