Spicy {fast food style} Chicken

Recipe at end of post.

2014-03-01 13.48.14 2014-03-01 13.48.44

Eggs, Hot Sauce, Cajun Spice Mix.  Cup4cup, Bread Crumbs and Spice Mix.

2014-03-01 13.48.47 2014-03-01 13.54.16

Buttermilk soaked chicken breasts.  Breasts dredged in flour / spice mixture.

2014-03-01 13.54.28 2014-03-01 13.54.36

Dredged breasts dipped in Eggs, Milk and Hot Sauce.  Then back into the flour / spice mixture.

2014-03-01 13.55.10 2014-03-01 14.04.18

2014-03-01 14.34.52

Pan (or in my case…electric skillet) Fried.

I took a pic of the finished chicken but the camera ate it. 😦 Sorry.

To kick off Mardi Gras weekend I wanted to do some spicy chicken.

There are several mock Popeye’s recipes floating around online.  One of them actually calls for a packet of Italian dressing mix.  Uhmmm, no.  I’m pretty sure that’s not gonna cut it.  One was just a few spices.  Again…not what I was looking for.  Then there was the one I based mine on.  (It’s all over the place with no credit to an original so I’m not even going to try to guess who / where it came from.)

The flavor of this was really good.  My only issue with it is that it really needs to be used with skin-on chicken.  I used skinless / de-boned breasts and I found the breading a little dry.  Papa Lupiac really enjoyed it but I think it would be perfect with some skin-on dark meat and will do it that way the next time.  I’ve never actually fried a whole piece of chicken before.  I’m kind of scared of it.  I’m a crazy germ / bacteria phobe and I’m always worried that they won’t get done all the way thru.  But I’m going to give it a try with some wings since they’re smaller.  Oh also…next time I think I’ll use Tabasco brand hot sauce since that’s a Louisiana thang and I think the fast food place used to even have pics of the label on the menu.

Hope y’all are having a good weekend.  See you tomorrow with the first of 2 sweets. 🙂 

Spicy Chicken

Chicken soaked in Buttermilk overnight.

3 – 4 cup Flour  (I used Cup4cup)

1 cup gluten-free Breadcrumbs (I used my own made from left over bread…all different types.)

2 tbsp Cajun Spice Mix (I used Emeril.)

2 Eggs

1/2 cup Hot Sauce

1/2 cup Milk

Peanut Oil for frying.

Directions

Mix flour, breadcrumbs and spices.

Dredge chicken in flour mixture.

Dip floured chicken in egg mixture.

Dredge in flour mixture again.

Let coated chicken sit for about 10 minutes.

Fry for about 2 1/2 minutes on each side.   (I fried mine on the ‘chops’ setting of the electric skillet…it says it’s 340*)

Leave a Reply

