‘Hashbrown’ Casserole

This recipe has been floating around various social media lately so I decided to adapt it gluten-free. ย Recipe at the end of post. ๐Ÿ™‚

2014-02-11 15.11.32

This was a big hit here and is my new favorite way to make a potato casserole.

The original recipe(s) said to use frozen bag(s) of hashbrown potatoes but I couldn’t find one here in rural route that didn’t have wheat / gluten so I decided to try to make my own. ย I was very happy with the results. ๐Ÿ™‚

This has been my best week in almost 5 weeks so hopefully I’m on the downside of my latest trek thru health h3ll. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย ย 

Hope y’all have had a good week. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Hashbrown Casserole

The amounts I used here are for half a recipe. ย This can easily be doubled and I will definitely double it myself the next time.

2 Large Potatoes, Pealed and Grated

2 tbsp Oil (I used Macadamia Nut oil)

1 cup Sour Cream

1 cup Cheddar Cheese, grated

Bacon (as little or as much as you like)

3/4 package Ranch Dip Mix

Directions

Cook, cool and chop bacon.
Peel and grate potatoes.
Squeeze out as much moisture from the potatoes as possible.
Heat oil on medium high (as always know your stove and adjust as needed).
Add potatoes to hot pan and cook til they’re a light brownish color and are stuck together in several loose ‘hashbrown’ piles.
Flip and brown the other side. Total cooking time should be around 8 – 10 minutes. Four to five-ish per side.
Dump potatoes in a mixing bowl and add the remaining ingredients.
Mix well and dump into a greased pan or casserole dish.
Bake at 350* for about 20 minutes.

5 responses to “‘Hashbrown’ Casserole

Leave a Reply

