Happy Valentine’s Day :)

This has been the worst sickness I’ve experienced in years.  It’s been 4 weeks and I’m still dragging.  Oh the joys of a weak immune system. 😦 Plus my taste is still all off.  The eats aren’t all that interesting overall but the occasional blog worthy recipe is starting to make an appearance around here. 🙂  I don’t know when I’ll get back to a steady posting routine so for now I’m just going to ease back in as I start to get back into the cooking groove.  Thanks for hanging with me. 🙂

I had plans to make all sorts of fun Valentine’s themed foods for the blog but that just didn’t happen.  Maybe next year.  I did make these brownies and they were definitely blog worthy.  Yes, Sister Lupiac I’m sending you some. 🙂   As always recipe is at the end of the post.

1

Melted butter and chocolate.

2

Eggs / sugar / vanilla / red food coloring.

4

Pre oven brownie layer topped with cream cheese mixture and swirled.

5

Baked.

7

8

Yum. 🙂

These are quick / easy / pretty and very good. 🙂

Hope y’all are all well / safe / warm and have a great day. 🙂

Red Velvet Brownies

1/2 cup Butter
2 oz Chocolate
1 cup Sugar
2  Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla
1 oz Red Food Coloring
3/4 cup Flour (I used Cup4Cup)
1/4 tsp Salt
8 oz softened Cream Cheese
1/3 cup Sugar
1 Egg
1/2 tsp Vanilla

Directions

Preheat oven to 350*.
In a small bowl, melt butter and chocolate together. Stir until combined and very smooth. Set aside to cool for a few minutes.
In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, eggs, vanilla and red food coloring.
Add cooled chocolate mixture and stir until smooth.
Add flour and salt and stir until just combined.
Pour into pan and spread into an even layer.
For the cheesecake layer beat cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth.
Dollop the cheesecake mixture over batter in the pan.
Swirl with a knife or spatula.
Bake for 35-40 minutes, until brownies and cheesecake are set. A knife inserted into the cheesecake mixture should come out clean.
Let cool completely in pan on a cooling rack before cutting.
This tastes good at room temp or refrigerated. Refrigerated it takes like red velvet cheese cake.

6 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day :)

  1. Love it! Brownies are the best, and adding cream cheese and a swirl just puts them over the top. Happy Valentine’s Day and I have my fingers crossed that you feel better soon!

  2. Aww!! Those look delicious and thank you for sending me some! I’m really glad you are starting to feel a little bit better. I’ve missed your posts a lot and I miss you a lot too! Love you very much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

