Tortilla Soup

The Crockpot is getting a workout around here this week. 😉 

2014-01-22 01.06.20 2014-01-22 01.15.59

2014-01-22 13.39.50 2014-01-22 14.03.43

Last week I came across this tortilla soup recipe on gflife24/7.    While I don’t share Kaila’s bean phobia…I do hate beans in tortilla soup.  I told her I was putting her recipe on my to-do list for the next cold snap.  Since it’s only supposed to be 38* here today I figured I better take advantage of the cold in case it’s the last. 🙂  You never know down here.

I’m not going to retype her recipe just share my additions.  Click on the ‘tortilla soup’ link above and it’ll take you directly to her post.

I followed her measurements and subbed what I had one hand (or just like) in my tortilla soup.

I added one small chopped potato.  

Purred the onion and tomatoes. I like onion / tomato to be completely smooth in soup.  

Used chicken instead of turkey.  

Cooked in the Crockpot on low for about 5 hours.  

Then added the corn plus some Mexican rice (from our little local restaurant) and turned down to warm for the rest of the day.

I’d planned on making tortilla strips to go with it but the Lupiac household is passing around a horrible viral bronchial infection and I woke up with it yesterday. 😦   Since my lungs are already so weak from the lupus…I feel like I’m trying to cough up a lung and frying tortilla strips is the last thing I feel like doing.

Even without the tortilla strips this soup is amazing.  The perfect amount of liquid to spice.  And as you see here you can also clear out your icebox if you’ve got stuff that mixes well with the spices. 🙂  

Thanks for sharing, Kaila. 🙂

Hope y’all have a safe and warm weekend. 🙂

Such sad news that C&T are getting a divorce.  😦

2 responses to “Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Welcome! | GF Life 24/7

  2. “in case it’s the last” …. that would be nice! Soup looks great and since I’m sure it will be cold here for a while I should have plenty of opportunities to try it! Get better soon.

Leave a Reply

