Crockpot Bread

I’d never heard of baking bread in a Crockpot until I got this book for Christmas.

Capture

I’ve been playing around with different bread recipes using the bread flour blend from the Bread Book so I don’t have a recipe to share yet but I’m sharing the technique today because I found it fascinating and I think it will probably work with most shaped bread.

You take your bread dough.  Shape it.  Place it on a piece of parchment paper.  Put it in your Crockpot.  Cover and turn it on high.  It does the rise and bake in the Crockpot.  The book said the rise and bake should take about an hour.  It took mine about an hour and half but it was well worth the extra time. 🙂

The bottom and sides brown in the crock but if you want the top to brown you have to take it out of the crock and place in the oven just long enough to get it to your desired color.

I wouldn’t do this all the time but it really was a great way to bake the bread and free up the oven at the same time.

6 responses to “Crockpot Bread

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 It really was a wow thing. I was so surprised when it worked. I needed both my regular oven and my small convection oven for other parts of the meal so this worked out perfectly.

    • Well you still have to make bread dough which can be intimidating for a non-cook. 🙂 What you could do though is buy a box mix of bread dough…mix it according to the directions on the box but then instead of doing the rise / bake according to the box directions…shape it and put it in the crock to rise / bake. If you do decide to do it though let me know which brand you get and I’ll check it out and let you know if you’d need to divide the dough and cook 2 batches. For what I did your loaf was just supposed to be a little over 1 pound and I think most boxes are 2 pounds. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Tortilla Soup | Rural Route Lupiac

  2. Pingback: Brioche Dough ~ w/ Regular GF Flours | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

