My Earliest Christmas Memory

2013-12-19 19.57.38

I think I can speak for Sister Lupiac here when I say that in the grand parental lottery of life we are so very thankful to have drawn two of the best. Of course WE think they’re the absolute best. 🙂

Mama Lupiac is salt of the earth / mother earth personified. Papa L was an Eagle Scout…former Navy and is the most honest / hard working / respectable-to-the-core man I’ve ever known.

They raised us in a home where we were taught that ‘stuff’ and keeping up appearances aren’t even in the top 100 most important things in life. They were also very much of the ‘live it / mean it…don’t scream it’ type when it came to religion. Meaning show me with your actions…because lip service when it’s convenient means absolutely nothing.

Given that upbringing it’s not surprising that my earliest Christmas memory isn’t a toy. It’s a moment and a life lesson …that of course also involved cooking. 🙂

Our grandparents on both sides of the family lived within walking distance of their churches.

We always spent Christmas Eve with Papa L’s side of the fam and Christmas Day with Mama L’s.

So this particular Christmas Eve…Mama L let us help her make a cake. A plain white box cake with simple icing. Then she let us ‘decorate’ it with those little ‘red hot’ cinnamon dots.

Mama L was also the unofficial family photographer. She literally has thousands and thousands of childhood / holiday / random Tuesday 😉 pics. I know the pic of this cake is in there somewhere and so very badly want to find it.  I’ll update this post when I do.

Instead of eating this ‘masterpiece’ for Christmas Eve dessert the three of us walked down the street to the church and gave it to baby Jesus for his birthday. 🙂  She talked to the Father and he let us leave it at the altar.

No doubt he moved it as soon as we left but I have NEVER forgotten it.

Now granted I can’t think of one Christmas or birthday when I didn’t receive exactly whatever ‘stuff’ I wanted…but the real meaning of Christmas (and the most important things in life in general) were taught from the cradle and big props to Mama L for doing it in such an unforgettable way. 🙂

It was a tradition I’d always planned to continue with my own children but sadly my defective body has other plans. 😦   If I’d been able to have them though I think we would have made our cake like this.  Recipe at the end of the post.

2013-12-19 19.37.43 2013-12-19 19.57.38

It’s cute and Christmas-y…and well this is me we’re talking about and I think we all know how much I love me some red food dye. 😉 I tried to find some of those little red hot candies for nostalgic decor but I couldn’t find ’em here in rural route.  Do they still make those?   And why oh why do some of my pics have a yellow (or brown) tint like on the left?  The actual icing is as white as it can be…like on the right.

2013-12-19 19.42.39

What’s your earliest Christmas memory?

This is going to be my last post til next Monday.

Merry Christmas to those of you who observe and good week wishes to those of you who don’t.

Y’all (and the blog in general) have been one of my greatest gifts this year. 🙂

Thank you…have a great week…be safe on the roads…and see you next week. 🙂

Vanilla Cake

1 cup Flour (125g…I used Cup4Cup but have also used my own blend)
1 tsp Baking Powder
pinch Salt
5 tbsp soft Butter
1/2 cup Sugar
1 Egg
1 tsp Vanilla
1/3 cup Milk

Preheat oven the 350 degrees

Mix flour, baking powder and salt.

Cream butter and sugar.

Add eggs and vanilla.

Add flour and milk.

For this particular cake I then divided the batter in thirds…dyed 1/3 green and 2/3 red.

Pour into pan(s) and bake 10 – 20 minutes depending on pan size and oven.  Know your oven.  🙂

**This amount makes one single layer cake (one round…or one square…or 3 of the little 4 inch mini rounds I used for this cake) and can easily be doubled or tripled.

2 responses to “My Earliest Christmas Memory

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Mama Lupiac | Rural Route Lupiac

  2. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Papa L | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

