Gluten – Free Pita Bread

2013-12-18 19.30.16

2013-12-18 19.50.48

2013-12-18 19.52.01

And no, I don’t mean pita as in ‘Pain in the ___’.  😉

That’s right, y’all.  Real gluten – free pita bread.  🙂   (From the bread book.)

I’d never even made a gluten-full pita from scratch so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

I put them in a really hot oven (400*) and about 2 minutes in they started to puff.  I just let ’em do their thang til they got to a level of golden I liked on the outside then pulled them out and hoped they wouldn’t deflate and be a solid mass.

They didn’t.  🙂  I cut off an end and found a lovely pocket to stuff.   Of course I had to Tex-Mex it up (chopped spicy steak / cheese / guac) but can y’all believe it?  A gluten-free / soft puffy bread.

Today I’ll be working on a different bread recipe and a fun cookie.  Fingers crossed…depending on how they turn out…I’ll see y’all tomorrow with the cookie.  🙂

Please tell me I’m not the only one who enthusiastically mouthes the ‘Merry Christmas, Mr. Buble’ part of this song when no one is looking?  😉  

Leave a Reply

