Praline Monday

2013-12-14 15.39.54 2013-12-14 15.46.49

I tried a recipe from the bread book using Cup4Cup as the all purpose base for the bread flour blend.  It didn’t work well at all.  Definitely stick with one of the two blends recommended.  She recommends a simple blend and a more complex blend.  I’ve had the very best results with the simple blend.

2013-12-16 01.17.382013-12-15 21.16.41

Mama Lupiac’s annual Christmas ‘trash’.  Look how I’ve got her trained to ‘stage’ food for my pics. I came through the kitchen and she’d put the green jalapeño things to the top for a pop of color.  🙂   I’m so happy she was able to make a completely gluten-free mix for me.  🙂  I don’t feel even a little bit deprived of this annual tradition.  This bowl has various types of Cheetos / Funions – regular and spicy / Pecans / Gluten – Free Goldfish and something else I’m forgetting.  We’re going on a shopping trip to a larger town this week and I hope to find some Glutino pretzels for the next batch.

2013-12-14 17.32.55

Made some Chicken Fried with oven baked potatoes.  I’m guilty of usually just throwing potatoes in the microwave.  Every now and then I get a reminder of why I shouldn’t do that.   They’re so much better straight out of an oven.

2013-12-15 15.39.58 2013-12-15 15.45.59

2013-12-15 16.02.24

Christmas Pralines.  As always…recipe is at the bottom of the post.  🙂

Do you say PRAY-lean or Praw-LINE?  You’re wrong if you choose the latter…but we can still be friends.  😉

My Meme used to make pralines year round but I save them for Christmas.  She also made them old school from scratch.  I ‘cheat’ and use pudding.  Butterscotch is delectable.  They practically melt in your mouth and I’ll probably end up making 3 or 4 batches by next week.

I have some more cookies on tap this week.  A hair appointment. A pedicure.  A shopping trip.  Some more bread.  Hopefully some present wrapping.  And a special cake.

What’s on the menu (food or otherwise) in your world this week?     

Pudding Pralines

Ingredients

1 small package COOKING type Vanilla or Butterscotch Pudding
1 1/2 cups Brown Sugar
1/2 cup Evaporated Milk
1 tbsp Butter
1 cup chopped Pecans

Directions

Line baking sheet with nonstick foil, wax paper or parchment paper.  The key here is to use something you don’t need to grease or spray.

Mix pudding, sugar, evaporated milk, and butter in a saucepan over medium heat.

Heat until the sugar and butter melt.

Insert a candy thermometer and cook without stirring until the thermometer reaches softball stage or 240*.  No matter how badly you want to stir it…don’t do it.  It’ll make your pralines grainy.

Immediately remove from the heat and add the pecans.

Stir with a heavy spoon until it starts to thicken and look less glossy.  Most recipes say to keep stirring until the mixture looks opaque.  I start scooping mine while it’s still a little bit glossy and just this side of opaque.

Quickly and I mean super quick 😉  scoop the pralines onto the baking sheet.  Don’t worry about any little stray strings or drops.  They break right off once they set up…leaving you with rounds.  Seriously don’t get caught up trying to make perfect drops.  The mix in the pan will harden if you take too much time.

Let the Pralines ‘set’ up for about 15 minutes.

2 responses to “Praline Monday

  1. Hope we get gf gold fish up here one day 🙂 Let’s see. This week I’ll be testing some recipes for roast veg and doing some baking – cookies, candies, and other Christmas goodies.

Leave a Reply

