Bread and Decorations

2013-12-01 20.20.28

2013-12-01 19.27.10 2013-12-01 19.27.54

2013-12-01 19.56.19 2013-12-01 20.13.27

2013-12-01 20.20.28

Ciabatta rolls from the book I’m obsessed with.  Sorry in advance for all the bread that’ll be making an appearance here over the next few weeks.  🙂

The recipe in the book is for a standard large ciabatta roll but I wanted to try to recreate those cute little ciabatta rolls they have by the hot soup bar at Whole Foods.  I think I got them a little too flat but the taste and texture were amazing.

I’m really enjoying working with this bread flour mix.  I’m probably going to order some Expandex when it’s back in stock.  I love experimenting but I’d like to try the recommended brand too so I’ll have something to compare the ‘other’ brand to.  Without knowing exactly what it should feel like…it’s hard to tell how close my results are to her results.

2013-12-01 01.17.45 2013-12-01 01.45.52

I had them with this brisket stew.  I wanted to share this Orrington Farms Slow Cooker seasoning packet because it’s gluten-free and the flavor was delish.  They have other flavors too.  I usually like to do my own seasonings but sometimes ya just need some salty package gravy.  🙂  It’s sea salt too.

2013-12-01 19.51.20

2013-11-29 00.47.28  2013-12-01 20.52.24

Christmas Tree pics.  🙂

2013-12-01 20.49.45 2013-12-01 20.50.05

Bethlehem and my snow globe collection.  The Camel in the manger scene is the only remaining piece from the first Bethlehem Mema bought for her and Pappy’s first Christmas after Papa L was born.  🙂

I collect snow globes and receive one every year.  I love them and treat them like gold.  🙂

2013-12-01 20.49.322013-12-01 20.49.22

My love for Martha as a lifestyle guru is only eclipsed by my love for Cristina Ferrare.  I just adore her.  She taught me how to make a turkey via the TV of course and when I was in undergrad I seriously scheduled classes around the original version of Home and Family.

The Hallmark Channel has revamped the show and the red / green ‘package’ on the left pic was a craft Cristina did last week.  I thought it was so creative and decided to do it after I put up the tree.

You take whatever painting or item you already have hanging around your tree and wrap it to match the tree decorations.  My favorite diploma hangs in that spot the rest of the year and I usually take it down for Christmas.  Once I got the new white tree up I realized I needed a pop of color behind it so I got some red wrapping paper / green bow.  It’s perfect.  It gives it a little backdrop of color.  Once again, Cristina to the rescue.  🙂

Cristina’s daughter, Alex is also celiac and has a blog if y’all want to check her out.

I’m not sure what’s on the menu this week.  I can tell my iron is plummeting again (gray eyes…bruising really bad) so probably a lot of red meat.  I do know I have a Christmas cookie planned for later in the week though.   🙂

Hope y’all had a great holiday week-end and are getting some good cyber Monday deals.  🙂

6 responses to “Bread and Decorations

    • Thanks, gfandme. 🙂 I’ll definitely keep sharing. My Expandex should be here Monday at the latest. I can’t wait to use it and see how close I’ve been getting to the recipes as tested. I’m going to do a comparison post once I test it out.

      • Here’s the recipe I was telling you about. These are light and buttery – really good. My grandma used to make a chocolate version as well. The recipe isn’t adapted to gf yet. I’ve never made these myself!

        Whipped shortbread cookies

        1 lb. of butter
        ¼ cup cornstarch
        3 cups flour
        1 cup sugar
        ¼ tsp. vanilla

        Soften butter and cream well. Add other ingredients and
        Beat on high speed for 10 to 15 minutes or until it
        Reaches the consistency of whipped cream.
        Bake in 350 degree oven on ungreased cookie sheet
        For 12 to 15 minutes.
        Yields 5 dozen

  1. Wow. Thanks, gfandme (and thanks to your Mom and grandma too). 🙂

    Hey, are you having any problems with wordpress loading? I had to try 10 times today just to get the page to load. It would keep crashing and giving me an ‘unable to load page’ error message.

Leave a Reply

