Mini Weekend Roundup

I don’t have a lot to post today because the eats have been pretty boring and I’ve been spending a lot of time doing holiday prep…Christmas and Thanksgiving.

2013-11-24 22.18.52

My third batch of this dough.  I smoothed it out after the pic.  Just wanted y’all to see how soft and close to ‘real’ dough it is.

dough

This was my second batch.  I used it to make these bread sticks.  The link goes to a second recipe from the book.

2013-11-23 19.03.53 - Copy 2013-11-23 21.38.00 - Copy

These pics make it look like it didn’t get a good rise but it’s just the pics and how close the camera was to the unrisen dough (much closer than in the after shot).  Someday I’ll get better with the pics.  🙂  They did almost double in size.  I only used butter on the tops because I wanted to be able to use them with some fig jelly later.

Since it’s so strong…with each batch I’ve decreased the amount of Ultratex and the third batch has been the best so far. 

I started with half the amount…which made that half of 5 tsp…so 2 1/2 tsp per cup.  For the second batch I used 2 tsp per cup.  For the third I used 1 tsp per cup and it’s been the best so far.  Of course I won’t really be able to judge it until I get the book and see what it’s supposed to look like.

2013-11-23 21.14.55 2013-11-23 21.32.02

It’s been in the 40’s here the last few days so I had to make the first hot chocolate of the winter.  🙂

2013-11-23 12.09.44 2013-11-23 12.10.00

I finally ‘discovered’ Five Guys.  How has it taken me this long?  It’s the perfect place for gluten-free.  They only fry fries in the fryers and at my closest location they do all the bread on a separate grill.  But they did say that it varies from store to store so always ask first.  I loved it.  I’ve also turned into Mama Lupiac…bringing my own mayo.  😉

More holiday prep this week so my posting will be sporadic again.   Next week I’ll get back to my usual posting routine with some holiday baking.  🙂

Hope y’all had a good weekend and are staying warm.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.