Croissants

This is most definitely the gluten-free recipe I’m most proud of so far.  🙂  I wish I’d retained some of my high school French so I could say something befitting.  🙂  Sadly green bean and pen…pretty much the only thing I remember…wouldn’t add anything to this topic.  😉

16

1 2

Still haven’t found my real rolling-pin so I bought this $2 one at Wal-Mart.  Mixed the dough…recipe is at the bottom of the post…and rolled out into shaggy rectangle.  The pics don’t do this dough justice but it’s a soft yeasty dough.

3 4

Grated butter in the middle.  Dough folded over the butter like a letter.

5 6

Butter filled dough rolled into a shaggy rectangle and folded like a letter again.

7 8

Folded dough resting in the freezer for 10 minutes.  Most recipes say to chill for longer.  I found I didn’t need it.  You’re just wanting the dough to firm back up so the butter isn’t soft and oozing out. 

Repeated the rolling / folding /freezing process 3 more times.

9 10

After the last trip to the freezer…Rerolled and folded the dough then put in the ice box for several hours.  Most of the recipes I read said that at this point you can leave it in the icebox for up to 2 days.

11 12

Out of the icebox.  I trimmed the shaggy uneven sides to make a clean-looking rectangle.  Then rolled out one last time.

13 14

Cut into triangle and rolled into croissant shape.  I made them small because I really didn’t think this was going to work.  Didn’t want to waste a lot of flour making them bigger incase they didn’t work.

15 16

Egg and cream wash.  Croissant right out of the oven.

18

Look at all those thin buttery layers.  🙂

17 19

More buttery layers.  🙂  Plus I rerolled all the shaggy edge scraps…filled with grated cheese and rolled in a log shape.  This was so amazingly good.  I will be making cheese filled again very soon.

2013-11-09 00.31.19

Super messy ham / cheese toasted mini croissant-wich.  🙂  I know it was silly to make a sandwich out of these small croissants but I couldn’t help it.  I wanted to know how they tasted with stuff on ’em.  Delicious that’s how.  🙂

For inspiration…first I went to Martha of course.  😉  I also watched this  YouTube vid.  Then I modified to gluten-free.

I’m so proud of these and might make them for our Thanksgiving ‘roll’.

Hope y’all are having a great week.  🙂

Croissant Recipe

This is what I used to make 8 mini croissant plus the scraps.

135g Flour

(I started with 1 cup flour and then based on feel added a couple more tablespoons…so I ended up with a little over a cup)

1/2 packet Yeast

2 tbsp Sugar 

1/3 cup warm Milk

1/2 tsp Salt

2 tbsp Oil   (I used macadamia oil.)

1 Egg

1 stick Butter

plus 1 Egg and splash of  Cream for brushing

Instructions

Mix half the flour plus warm milk, yeast and sugar.  Cover.  Let rest / rise for an hour.  This is where you’d add your xanthan gum if your blend doesn’t already contain it.

Add rest of flour, salt, oil and egg.  Add warm water by the tablespoon if dough feels too dry.

You want the dough to hold together but you also want it on the sticky side.  It will take in more flour during the rolling process so start on the sticky side to prevent the dough from being too heavy after all of the rolling. 

Mix well and dump out onto a floured rolling surface.

Remember you don’t have any gluten to work with here so a long kneading process is a waste of time when working with gluten-free flour.  Don’t spend more than a couple minutes mixing the dough.  Just make sure everything is completely mixed together and move on.  🙂 

Grate butter.

Refer to the above pics and the linked video for rolling process.  I’m not suggesting you do this because I’m lazy and don’t want to type the rest of the instructions.  I’m doing it because I truly think the visuals are so much more helpful.  Especially if you’ve never worked with homemade pastry dough before.  🙂 

When ready to bake…remove from icebox.  Roll into a 1/4 inch thick rectangle.  Cut into triangles.

Form each triangle.

Place on baking sheet and brush with egg / cream wash.

Cover and let rest while oven is heating to 400*.

The dough will do most of the rising in the hot oven so don’t use the look of the rise as a timetable.  Let the dough rest 10 – 20 minutes and then get them in the hot oven.

Bake 10 – 20 minutes.

Let rest on cooling rack for at least 10 minutes.

Walk around the house showing your family all the buttery layers you made out of…gluten…free…flour.  Ask them if you should have one of the croissants bronzed.  Ok maybe that last part was just me.  😉

8 responses to “Croissants

  1. Pingback: Since We Last Met | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

