Pecan Cups

2013-11-06 14.44.32

One of the very worst parts of lupus is the debilitating fatigue.  All of the lost sleep last week just really knocked me down.  Over the last 4 days I’ve slept 14 hours / 10 hours / 13 hours and 9 hours plus little cat naps throughout the day.  You can’t help but feel like you’re sleeping your life away when you fall into a fatigue flare.  😦

Today I was feeling better so I decided to try this recipe I’ve had saved for months.  I need to start doing some trial runs of new recipes I might want to do for Thanksgiving.

This Nut Cup recipe is from No Gluten, No Problem.

2013-11-06 13.43.42 2013-11-06 13.46.52

2013-11-06 13.50.01 2013-11-06 13.52.18

2013-11-06 13.55.30 2013-11-06 14.01.31

2013-11-06 14.03.30 2013-11-06 14.26.27

2013-11-06 14.44.32

I followed the recipe just using my flour blend for the flour and Karo syrup instead of Agave.  These were great and so easy.  I usually have all kinds of problems when making pie dough but this was very easy.  No rolling and no messing with tablespoons of water.  Just mix 3 ingredients…divide and press.

Pre celiac I always bought the store crusts in the aluminum tins.  Even though I’ve got my household eating gluten-free* I really  only like the filling of a pie and since I’m the only one who has to eat gluten-free I’m thinking I’ll probably just still do the premade crusts for everyone else and leave me a little of the filling to the side.  I’d rather use the time (and ingredients) on something else that really needs to be gluten-free.  I haven’t decided for sure but that’s where I’m leaning right now.

*Edited to add…I only cook gluten-free now.  So if my family wants to eat something homemade then they eat gluten-free.  They still eat whatever they want outside of my cooking.  I know some people think it’s bad to go back and forth from a gluten-free diet to one full of wheat so I just wanted to clarify that.  🙂

Have you started planning for Thanksgiving?  Anything new you’re trying for the first time?  Will you do a trial run first? 

6 responses to “Pecan Cups

  1. Those Pecan Cups look fantastic! Might have to try those for Christmas. Glad to hear you are getting more energy again. That must be very frustrating. oh, and I pretty much always do a trial run – or at least have something else on hand to switch in if need be!

  2. Pingback: Pic Dump and Cheddar Bay Recipe | Rural Route Lupiac

  3. I just found and pinned this same recipe from No Gluten, No Problem earlier this evening! Yours look really good, and I’m glad to know it worked to substitute corn syrup for the more expensive agave!

    • Thanks, Laurie. 🙂 I can’t stand agave and I figured they were just mini pecan pies.

      Also, I apologize for not approving your comment sooner. I was away from the computer and the blog loads too slow on my phone for me to do anything.

  4. Pingback: Quick Apple Spice Cake | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

