Friday Hodgepodge

With the crazy cold / bug / whatever-it-was and now this disaster I need a do-over on the last week.  This post is all over the place.  Hopefully next week I’ll be completely back to normal with some new recipes.  🙂

IMG00096

I sleep on an old school water-bed.  It’s the only way I can sleep pain-free.  But as you might guess…when you need water-bed accessories you pretty much have to order them online.

I ordered a new liner and it was supposed to be delivered on Thursday.  So I get up early and get the bed drained…a HUGE pain…and about halfway thru I get email notice that the package was damaged and wouldn’t be delivered.  I called Amazon and they reordered the liner and comp’d overnight shipping so fingers crossed it will come today.  If not I’m going to be without a bed for the weekend.  😦

Some random pics

2013-10-24 15.13.26 2013-10-30 19.46.54

My taste is finally starting to get back to normal so of course Mexican is back too.  🙂

2013-10-16 11.49.38 2013-10-24 19.36.42

Fresh batch of English Muffins and I wanted to share this food color.  It’s AmeriColor brand and I had to get it at Hobby Lobby.  I used it for the cake icing last week and I can’t recommend it highly enough.  It is so much better than the Wilton pastes.  So much.

Pappy

Sunday would have been my Pappy’s birthday.  I’ve written about my Mema and Meme for their birthday and don’t want to leave him out.  He was pure Czech and pretty funny at times.  Til the day he died he loved to tell us this crazy story about meeting Mema for the first time as she was walking barefoot down the road.  Something that never actually happened.  🙂  He loved to fish and worked bingo every Thursday night.  I can vividly remember summer childhood nights spent in an air-conditioned less bingo hall…winning Bundt cakes and pot plants…every child’s dream 😉  from the raffle between games.

The local paper here in rural route has a weekly football ‘pickem’ game and for the last 8 years of his life every single Thursday I’d go to the house and we’d pick the games.  I don’t like to brag…oh who am I kiddin’ of course I do…but most years I’m pretty good.  shhhh….let’s not talk about this year.  😉  I still do the pickem’s with Papa Lupiac every week pretty much in his honor.

I don’t have  a recipe for him.  A lot of what he loved to eat I haven’t translated to gluten-free yet…Kolaches and Czech food.  He was also a big pie guy and I’m sure it won’t surprise y’all to know the only kinds of pie I really like are of the frozen Chicken variety and the Whataburger drive thru  😉 which are both off-limits now with the celiac.   I will be doing some traditional pies for Thanksgiving and will share then.  Gluten free of course. 

2013-10-31 12.26.33

Two candies I’ll always associate with him are Chick-o Sticks and Orange slices.  He always had a pack of orange slices in the icebox and mini Chick-o’s in his ‘junk’ drawer.  I was at Wal-Mart last night and picked up a bag of each in his honor.  🙂

For the last year and half of his life I saw him every single day.  Even on his worst days he always said something memorable.  He also made me laugh every time I’d walk in the house with a Cola Icee and he’d ask if I was drinking my ‘crack coke’.  🙂

Happy Birthday, Pappy.  🙂

Hope y’all have a good weekend.  🙂

3 responses to “Friday Hodgepodge

  1. What a great post about Papa. I cried a little while reading it just now. He was a great grampa and he loved his family so much. I still call them crack cokes too and probably always will. I hope your water bed part comes today and you can get some rest this weekend. Love you! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monday Mess | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

