Sunday Waffles

2013-10-19 20.21.00

2013-10-19 19.29.11 2013-10-19 19.36.38

2013-10-19 19.41.04 2013-10-19 19.52.00

2013-10-19 19.58.34 2013-10-19 20.14.06

2013-10-19 20.21.00

Breakfast for supper.  🙂

I don’t usually post on the weekend but this was so good I wanted to share incase y’all need some Sunday Brunch or ‘Breakfast for Supper’ inspiration today.   🙂

These are apple waffles inspired by this recipe from Southern Lady Cooks.  She used the recipe for pancakes but I wanted waffles.

Don’t judge me but prior to the celiac…frozen waffles were one of my most favorite breakfast foods ever.  I know.  Y’all are thinking ‘lady this is nothing…we’ve been judging you ever since you told us you eat Velveeta and wear jeggings’.  😉  But it’s true.  I loved me some frozen blueberry waffles.  I would even eat the store brand if they were out of the name brand.

What I love about frozen waffles is the crispiness that until now I’d never been able to achieve with a homemade waffle.  These turned out perfect.  Crispy on the outside.  Soft on the inside.  I wonder if it had something to do with the oats?

And don’t even get me started on the syrup.  Delicious.

I followed her recipe just halving it…and using gluten free flour of course.  Plus I added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder just because I find it helps gluten free ‘baked’ goods.

I did change up the syrup though.  I hate apple juice.  Like seriously hate it.  Even just the smell.  So in place of the apple juice I used an equal amount of this cinnamon apple spice tea.

tea

Steeped it for 2 minutes then followed the rest of the recipe.  It was so good and I can’t wait to try this again with different fruit teas…Orange / Wild Blueberry / etc.

Hope y’all are having a good weekend.  🙂

Was trying to come up with a ‘breakfast’ themed song.  Had to settle for a breakfast movie theme song.  🙂

2 responses to “Sunday Waffles

Leave a Reply

