English Muffins

2013-10-16 19.35.16

2013-10-16 11.45.09 2013-10-16 11.49.38

I sit a lid on top of the rings for just a few minutes in the beginning to help them rise.

2013-10-16 12.02.51 2013-10-16 12.57.07

2013-10-16 14.12.02

Look at all those nooks and crannies.  🙂 

2013-10-16 19.35.16

Sausage / Egg and Cheese ‘McMuffin’.   🙂

I adapted my recipe (as always…it’s at the end of this post) from a Michael Ruhlman recipe found here.

In describing the recipe he says

“This recipe uses equal parts by weight flour and liquid, virtually a pancake batter but with less egg and lots of yeast.”

His recipe is not gluten-free.  The more gluten-free yeast bread recipes I make the more I realize the wetter the dough the better.

Prior to finding this recipe I tried making another recipe which wasn’t a wet dough and it was just a hard / heavy brick with no nooks at all.

His original recipe says it will make 8 – 12 muffins.  I only have 4 rounds so I had to cut down the recipe.  My best results came with a little more flour than water plus no eggs or butter.  Also I just let it rise til doubled.

This is the recipe I’ve been using to make 4.

1/2 package Active Dry Yeast

Pinch of Sugar

3/4 cup Water (or milk…I use water)

1 cup Flour

1 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Baking Powder 

Cornmeal (for sprinkling on the pan)

Instructions

Proof yeast in water (or milk) with a pinch of sugar.

Mix flour, salt and baking powder.  Here’s where you’d also add your xanthan if it’s not already in your mix. 

Add the yeast mixture to the flour mixture. Stir well.  Cover and let rise til double.

Using a 1/4 cup measure scoop into rounds and cook on stove top or oven til brown on both sides.  You don’t want to flip them until the bottom is brown AND the top is no longer wet.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  While the bottoms cook the tops kind of get a non wet feel even though you can tell the muffin isn’t cooked all the way thru yet.

After both sides have cooked remove from pan and let cool on a rack for 30 minutes before touching.

I found that it’s best to split these with a FORK before storing them.  Once they’re cold they don’t split as ‘pretty’.  After they get completely room temp I split them with a fork and put them in a Ziploc in the icebox. 

The original recipe said to hold out the baking powder until after the rise and then mix it in.  In the beginning I was doing it that way but wasn’t getting nearly as many or as ‘pretty’ nooks / crannies.   It may have to do with the whole gluten-free thing.  I don’t know but it worked best for me just mixing it in at the beginning. 

Also these are about 1/2 – 3/4 the ‘height’ of an English muffin from the grocery store.  You could try using more than a 1/4 cup per muffin but when I tried that I ended up with a goopy mess.  1/4 cup seems to be the sweet spot.  I’d personally rather have a smaller…crispy on the outside / nooks and crannies on the inside muffin than a larger goopy mess.  🙂 

Hope y’all have a great weekend.  🙂

2 responses to “English Muffins

Leave a Reply

