Lentil Stew

2013-10-16 00.26.58

2013-10-16 00.31.51 2013-10-16 13.04.45

2013-10-16 13.04.54 2013-10-16 13.04.50

We got a little blast of cooler air in South East Tejas today.  Low 70’s but I kid y’all not a lady was walking out of the post office in FUR.

Still as crazy as that is…when the temps drop from the 90’s to the 70’s it is hard to not wanna cook some stew.

I picked up a box of lentils the other day.  You can see it in the top pic.  It had a packet of spices. 

So last night to the crockpot I added

The box of Lentils and Seasoning

6 cups Chicken Stock 

Sautéed (in butter) and pureed White Onion and Celery 

1 chopped Potato

Ham Hocks

When it was close to done today I added

1 can of Green Beans

1 cup frozen Corn

I served it with cornbread.

It was really good.  Well the cornbread wasn’t that great but the stew was.  I’m still trying to perfect an acceptable gluten free cornbread.  I’m super spoiled / picky when it comes to cornbread.  I don’t like a straight corn base at all.  I like a flour / corn base and I just haven’t gotten it ‘right’ yet. 

Have you made your first pot of soup / stew of fall yet?  If not what are you looking forward to making (or just eating).  🙂

5 responses to “Lentil Stew

  1. I’m still in the market for a cornbread recipe, too! We made an adzuki bean and butternut squash soup recently and also used our crockpot to make mulled apple cider. Mmm. 🙂

      • I was sort of surprised by how little I was smelling it as it cooked, but I think that was because I was in the kitchen the whole day so I didn’t notice. But it definitely smelled (and tasted) amazing once the top came off!

Leave a Reply

