Make Me Now :)

2013-09-06 16.30.07

If you’re not scared of butter and sugar go make this now.  🙂

Since I was making this for Mama and Papa Lupiac’s anniversary I wanted to make something from the 60’s (when they got married).

Most people call this cake Tunnel of Fudge but we’ve always called it Tunnel of Love.

If you’re not familiar with this cake it was the Pillsbury Bakeoff runner up in 1966.  A Houstonian, Ella Helfrich won second place and $5000.  The cake rescued the Bundt pan from obscurity and was a national fav for years (until people became scared of butter and sugar).  I made this once and the mother of one of my guy friends decided I was going to be her daughter-in-law.  Hey, C…love you.  🙂

tunnel of fudge

The cake called for a Double Dutch frosting mix that Pillsbury stopped making in the 80’s.  After many complaints they reworked the recipe…but anyone who has had the original can tell you that it comes nowhere close to the original.  Here’s the original recipe booklet.

tunnel-of-fudge-recipe-book

tunnel-of-fudge-magazine-spread-large

See how it kind of looks really dry around the ‘tunnel’?  Well that must just be old photo technology because I’ve never had one that came out dry looking like that.  The whole cake was always moist.

I’ve made this many many times in my life (the original and the newer version) but this was the first time gluten free.  I decided to use the original recipe (to keep with the 60’s theme).

2013-09-06 12.56.32 2013-09-06 13.08.17

I realize Bakers Joy has flour.  I realized it after I took the pic and had already started mixing everything so I couldn’t retake the pic.  The actual cake pan used was completely safe.  🙂

2013-09-06 13.08.54 2013-09-06 13.12.25

2013-09-06 13.14.20 2013-09-06 13.16.16

2013-09-06 13.17.36 2013-09-06 13.19.59

2013-09-06 14.38.19 2013-09-06 16.29.02

2013-09-06 16.30.07 2013-09-06 16.29.46

I used Jiffy Fudge Frosting in place of the long gone Double Dutch.  I had some oven temp issues (at one point the oven spiked to 475 degrees) but overall it worked.  This cake is very temperamental…but again so very worth it.  If you don’t take it out of the oven early enough you lose the visual tunnel effect.  You still have the extremely gooey moist inside though.

Based on previous cakes there’s not a doubt in my mind that if I’d not had the oven temp issues and had removed it from the oven about 8 minutes earlier I would have had the gooey visual tunnel.   Everyone loved it as is and Mama Lupiac said she actually preferred it since once the ‘tunnel’ runs out of the cake you’re left with a hole.  I’m definitely making this again sometime and aiming to get it out of the oven earlier though and will add it to the pics in this post when I do.

Tunnel of Love Cake

3 sticks softened Butter

1 1/2 cups Sugar 

6 Eggs

2 cups Gluten Free Flour (as always I used Cup4Cup)

2 boxes Jiffy Fudge Frosting 

2 cups Pecans (any nut will work)

Vanilla

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter and flour Bundt pan.  (I just butter Crisco’d mine and it worked fine.)

Cream butter and sugar then add eggs one at a time mixing well after each one.  Beat ’til light and fluffy.  Add vanilla.

By hand stir in flour, frosting mix and nuts ’til well-blended.

Spoon batter into pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 – 60 minutes.

Cool 1 1/2 – 2 hours before removing from pan.

You can’t test for doneness with this cake.  You just have to go with your gut (and knowing your oven)  🙂  When it’s done it will pull away from the pan and won’t jiggle when you touch the top.

The original cake didn’t have a frosting on top.  I was worried about dryness with the gluten free version though so I made a ganache with equal parts cream and chocolate chips.  It really wasn’t needed at all.  The cake was ridiculously moist…but it didn’t have nearly enough fat or sugar 😉 …and frosting always makes everything better.

Enjoy.  🙂

One response to “Make Me Now :)

  1. Pingback: Motown Monday Roundup | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

