Friday Yum

8

A while back I wrote about Schar Ladyfingers and said they were awful.  I tasted them and then stuck them in the cabinet.  The other night I wanted a quick treat and decided to try using them as a base for these bars.  They were really good and I’ve changed my opinion of the Ladyfingers.  🙂

I thought I’d share this today incase y’all need something quick and easy this weekend for parties or tailgating / football watchin’.

For my non-gluten free family and friends (readers too if I have any who can eat wheat) this works both ways with no modifications.  Just pick a wheat based cookie or graham cracker for the base and you’re good to go.  🙂

2013-07-18 15.53.411

2 3

4 5

6 8

It got rave reviews from all – including the gluten eaters.

The recipe is at the end of the post.  🙂

““““““““““““““““““““

This is the last official summer grilling weekend and Papa Lupiac likes it when I talk about him on the blog so I’m gonna post this funny pic for him today.  🙂

He’s always wanting a new bbq pit.  I saw this pic and thought of you, Papa Lupiac.   I’ll try to sneak ya one home from Walmart .  😉

grillin-outside-the-box  (source)

(Walmart, if you’re reading this…I am totally joking and would never steal one of your buggies.  🙂 )

I’m off to make a rum cake and some potato salad for the weekend.  Hope it’s gonna be a good / relaxing / delicious one for y’all too.  🙂

Just a heads up too…lots of good online / end of summer sales going on right now if you’re in the need for some retail therapy.   🙂

 

 

Quick Cookie Bars 

1 1/2 cup finely ground Cookies or Graham Crackers (any kind)

1 1/2 sticks of butter  (you really only need one stick but the recipe says 1 1/2)

1 cup nuts  (any kind)

2 cups chips (any kind or combo)  I used Butterscotch and Chocolate.

1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk 

Grind up the cookies in a blender / bullet or food processor then measure out 1 1/2 cups.  Stir in melted butter and press into pan (I used a brownie pan).  Bake for about 5 minutes.

Remove from oven and top with nuts then chips.

Pour can of milk over.  I like to take a spatula and spread it around to make sure it’s evenly distributed.

Put back in the oven for about 20 minutes or until the milk gets bubbly and starts to brown around the edges of the pan.

Remove from the oven and let cool for at least 20 minutes then cut into squares.  The longer you let it cool the easier it is to cut and the better they hold together.

Quick.  Easy.  Delicious.  🙂

Cinnamon chips mixed with butterscotch chips are really good in this recipe during the fall (that’s the only time I can ever find the cinnamon chips).

Leave a Reply

