Last Meal Motown Monday

2013-08-17 12.34.13

Hope y’all had a good weekend.  🙂

Today is tooth extraction day…Why do they call it that?  Like it’s supposed to make me feel more at ease than ‘pulling’ …so I spent the weekend eating like I was having a last meal on death row.  Well old school death row since they only get a sandwich now.

(I ate this stuff over the course of Friday – Sunday and I’d really only want some of it as a last meal…but it would have been wasteful to make Rum Cake / Dr. Pepper Cake / Chocolate Chip Cookies and I sure wasn’t going to break ‘no soda’ for fake death row.)

I’m sure being this dramatic over a tooth extraction sounds silly but it’s really hard for my body to heal with such a weakened immune system.  It takes even little stuff forever to heal.  And I mean what if I can’t chew solids for a week or more?  How’s this kitchen girl supposed to function on chicken broth and ice cream?

2013-08-18 15.11.30

Tamales / Green Sauce /  some Cheese and Enchiladas too but didn’t get a pic. Do y’all think I can eat green sauce with a spoon like spicy green broth?  😉 

 2013-08-18 14.24.24 2013-08-18 14.24.42 

2013-08-18 14.31.53 2013-08-18 14.36.03

2013-08-18 19.28.23 2013-08-19 01.02.07

A new gluten free find.  These weren’t that great.  Normally I’d just make homemade but they had these on sale plus an in store coupon and when I saw they were gluten free I had to get ’em.  Ya know…for blogging purposes.  😉  The texture was good.  They were very creamy but something was off with the flavor profile.  I doubt I’d try them again but they have 3 other flavors.  Make sure and check the side panel / ingredients though because only 2 of them (this one and Bacon Ranch) are gluten free.

Did y’all notice I ate something green? 😉 …and isn’t the homemade ‘TV dinner’ cute?  (Can only chew on one side of my mouth but I had to try to force down some beef for iron / protein.)

2013-08-17 08.33.24 2013-08-17 08.33.02

2013-08-17 12.34.13

I was going to make the simple Oatmeal Scotchie recipe from the back of the butterscotch chips package.  I got started and then realized I was missing some ingredients.  I only had one stick of butter so I made up the difference with lard (remember the theme of this post – last meal…oh who am I kiddin’ I’d have used it on a random Tuesday 😉 )  I also only had 2 cups of gluten free oats.  SO I just used the 2 cups plus an additional spoonful or 2 of Cup4Cup.  I had no idea what I’d end up with but I thought if it didn’t work I could at least eat some dough.   They were delicious.  They were kinda like the butterscotch version of my fav Alexis Stewart cookie.  Crispy (but not crunchy) and also chewy.  I will definitely make them again like this (with less oats) but I would use all butter (unless I’m out).

2013-08-15 15.06.30 2013-08-15 15.08.18

Made up my juice for the week.  Last time I wrote about it I told y’all how I was juicing up fresh spinach and then freezing it so it’s fresh tasting and ready to go each time.  I was using Ziploc bags but they’re kind of messy not to mention wasteful.  I’ve switched over to these Ball Freezer ‘jars’.  They save space with no mess and you can drink it straight out of the jar.

Happy Motown Monday.  🙂

 

One response to “Last Meal Motown Monday

  1. Hope everything went well! I’ve been thinking about you and plan to call mom soon to get an update! Love you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

