Yumm and Uuuuggg

This week has been a mixed bag.  Some really good eats

2013-08-12 15.04.162013-08-12 15.02.30

2013-08-12 15.12.20 2013-08-12 15.27.44

If you’re like me and hate lime in your corn tortillas…La Banderita is really good…gluten free…and no lime.  🙂   I’d never tried the Joe’s mix before and it was really good.

2013-08-14 11.16.25 2013-08-14 11.16.31

Cheese Enchiladas / Ranchero Sauce / Rice / Beans and sad clown water.  (Ten days without a root beer or any kind of soda.)

2013-08-13 19.29.38 2013-08-13 19.43.00

2013-08-13 19.47.17 2013-08-13 20.10.47

My new favorite pan – this square muffin / brownie pan.  🙂

2013-08-14 19.47.01 2013-08-14 19.49.05

2013-08-14 19.51.44

These pics don’t do this cherry / lime concoction justice at all.  I followed this recipe from Simply Gluten – Free subbing Cup4Cup for her blend and making it as muffins instead of a loaf.  I left out the nuts and also iced them with Key Lime Pie icing.  I love Cherry Limeade so I thought the flavors would probably work well here too.  They definitely did and the cake part was so good.  It would be great with cherry icing or even a simple vanilla / buttercream too.

So that was the Yumm.

On to the Uuuuggg.

A broken tooth.  😦   I’ve never even had a cavity but now thanks to my absorption issues I have a very badly broken tooth – as in not savable / must be pulled.  Thankfully it’s the very last tooth at the back of the lower teeth so it can’t be seen but still.  😦

I take a blood thinner for my lupus clotting disorder and  that has to be adjusted for a few days before I can have the tooth pulled on Monday.  Like I said I’ve never even had a cavity so I’m kind of scared of the extraction.  Hopefully it won’t be too bad.

Needless to say the eats around here won’t be blog worthy for the next week but I have some saved recipes to post.

Kickin’ the weekend off a little early here on the blog.  Only three more summer weekends left…make ’em memorable.  🙂

6 responses to “Yumm and Uuuuggg

  1. Hi there, I found your blog through WordPress Reader. Love that brownie pan but I’m so sorry to hear about your tooth! Good luck getting it fixed up!

    • Thanks so much, Molly. 🙂

      I got the pan at Wal Mart. It’s Wilson and really is perfect for gluten free baking. I find that the larger the pan the less of a rise with baked goods. With this pan the individual sections let each ‘piece’ get the perfect rise.

      • That makes sense. You also get the “edge” effect on every piece, right? I always love the edge pieces and we fight over them in my family. 🙂

      • You do get the edge effect and I think this pan is a lot easer to fill than those pans that are specifically designed for that.

        I use a small ice cream scoop and put 3 scoops per hole. No mess and they all come out the same size. 🙂

  2. I’m so sorry about your tooth. Make sure you get some pain meds – that is what helped me the most. And ask for the gas and lots of it! 🙂 That cherry dessert looks AMAZING!!

Leave a Reply

