Water Roux Happiness

2013-08-08 00.41.05

That my lovelies is a soft foldable / roll-able tortilla!!!!  After my failed first attempt I tried again tonight with some tweaks and it worked.

One of my tweaks was adding some Water Roux.

A water roux is a Japanese technique used in bread making.

1 2

3 4

Water Roux

1/3 Cup flour

1 Cup water

Heat til thickened and gravy like.

Cool.  Then you just sub up to 1/2 cup for the liquid in your recipe.  For example my bread recipe calls for 2 cups liquid.  I use 1 1/2 cups water or milk plus 1/2 cup of water roux.  I know.  It sounds counter intuitive replacing pure liquid with thickened liquid and expecting a better texture but it works.

I’ve used it for this pizza

2013-07-24 15.08.18

And This Bread 

Baked Loaves

2013-07-25 01.24.17 2013-07-29 00.24.40

On the left is the recipe made without the water roux.  On the right is with the roux.  Without the roux it’s taste-y but not soft at all.  Plus it crumbles a lot.  With the roux it’s soft with few crumbs.  (The difference in size has to do with different pan sizes and being cut at different angles.  It’s the texture and crumb that are helped with the roux.)

I’ve gotten in the habit of making a batch of bread once every ten days or so and since I had some water roux left today I decided to try it in tortillas.  It was so good.

2013-08-08 00.40.44 2013-08-08 00.41.05

2013-08-08 00.52.08 2013-08-08 00.52.17

They were soft / pliable and didn’t break at all (they have odd shaped edges because I can’t find my rolling pin and didn’t feel like wrapping a bottle so I just pressed them out).

That’s a bacon / egg and cheese burrito.  It didn’t sog at all with the egg.

Tweaked Tortilla Recipe 

(for 2 tortillas)

2 oz Cup4Cup

1 tbsp Lard

1/4 tsp Baking Soda

1/4 tsp Salt

2 tbsp hot Water

2 tbsp Water Roux

Mix.  Divide dough into portions.  Let rest for a few minutes (5-ish).  Roll.  Cook on pre heated medium-high skillet.

I meant for this to make 2 tortillas but I had a messy first roll and lost about half of it so I just added what was left to the rest of the dough and made 2  four inch tortillas.  Without the mess and with a proper rolling pin I think it should have made 2 six inchers and the amounts can easily be adjusted to make more.

Thanks again to GF and Me for the inspiration and for breaking down how easy it is to just make a couple at a time.  Gluten Free cooking can be so tricky and I’m so thankful / appreciative for those who share their successes.  🙂

*A little bit of blog clean-up – in response to this post title from the other day Mama Lupiac would like me to let everyone know that I have never used meth.  So family / friends and readers – I have never used meth…I was just being overly dramatic.  🙂

10 responses to “Water Roux Happiness

  1. Oh my goodness, I LOL’d about mom wanting you to make that clarification about never using meth! She’s so funny!

  2. Pingback: Chicken Fried Motown Monday | Rural Route Lupiac

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Rustic Bread, Y’all | Rural Route Lupiac

  4. Pingback: Christmas Eats + Fav GF Recreation | Rural Route Lupiac

  5. Pingback: Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler | Rural Route Lupiac

  6. Pingback: Yeasted ‘Tortilla’ | Rural Route Lupiac

  7. Pingback: Weekend Eats and Hawaiian Style Rolls | Rural Route Lupiac

Leave a Reply

