Gluten is my Bitch – Book Review

Over the weekend I downloaded this book by April from Gluten Is My Bitch

Book(source)

I highly recommend the book. This Celiac stuff isn’t fun at all but this book IS a fun read (well as much fun as reading about a disease could be anyway) and I really need some funny in my life right about now. Plus don’t even get me started on the recipes. Chicken Fried Steak, Frito Pie, Chess Pie, and Mexican Cornbread just to name a few – music to this Texas girl’s ears.

Jumping into the blogging world is kind of like starting junior high school in a new town.  Everyone has their own little groups.  When I first started reading celiac / gluten – free blogs one thing stood out – people seemed so ‘together’ and even ‘perfect’ (of which I am neither).

Gluten is my Bitch made me see it’s ok to take my own path.  I don’t have to lock myself in my home and live in a bubble.  I don’t have to force myself to become a neurotic mess worrying about gluten at every turn.  But she also makes the point that even if you don’t react to cross contamination in visible ways – it’s still gluten and your gut does react.  I just want to listen to my body and find my own balance between vigilance and neurotic mess.  (I use neurotic mess here as it relates to me and only me – no one else.)  I know myself and the more restrictive I am the more I’d start treading into obsessive compulsive territory.  I’m not giving up anything I don’t absolutely have to give up.  I’m talkin’ to you dairy.  I’ll happily pop some Lactaid long before I’ll ever give you up.  🙂

Reading the book also made me realize it’s ok to be mad / sad / frustrated and a million other things. I’ve been beating myself up for not being able to just ‘get over it’ and I’m not going to do that anymore. I can’t pretend to be happy or fine with this celiac diagnosis when I’m not. I’ll get there but not today.  🙂

Leave a Reply

